Librarium Online Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
190 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The Deceiver's deceive ability (which forces a morale check or a pinning test, even against fearless units) occurs during the shooting phase. Does this mean that he can't use the ability on one unit when he plans to assault another? Example: in my last game, the Deceiver pinned a Grandmaster (he got really unlucky). The GM then died when other units shot him. Another unit was in assault range, however. Could the D assault that unit, or do all shooting phase skills count as shooting?

Weaf
 

·
LO Zealot
Joined
·
1,568 Posts
The ability is just something that's done in the shooting phase. It doesn't say it replaces shooting, so it doesn't count as a shooting attack against a specific unit. As such, the big D can assault something else.
 

·
for good and for awesome!
Joined
·
1,492 Posts
The ability is just something that's done in the shooting phase. It doesn't say it replaces shooting, so it doesn't count as a shooting attack against a specific unit. As such, the big D can assault something else.
This is a pretty good arguement. I would agree.
 

·
Dark Eldar Zealot
Joined
·
3,699 Posts
The ability is just something that's done in the shooting phase. It doesn't say it replaces shooting, so it doesn't count as a shooting attack against a specific unit. As such, the big D can assault something else.
Agreed, especially since the Deciever does not carry any weapons.

It truly seems that its done in that phase "like" a shooting attack but more akin to a Psychic attack although the big D is not a pysker.

Cheers.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
190 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Agreed, especially since the Deciever does not carry any weapons.

It truly seems that its done in that phase "like" a shooting attack but more akin to a Psychic attack although the big D is not a pysker.

Cheers.
If we assume the Ds skills operate like psychic powers, can a psyker use a power on one unit and assault another?
 

·
Poisonous Mammal
Joined
·
390 Posts
The Deceiver’s “Deceive” ability is not a shooting attack nor is it a psychic power. If it were either then it would be only be allowed to charge the unit that it used the “Deceive” ability on; however, it is a unique ability that specifically outlines the rules which it must follow (I.E. LOS, range, CC, etc.). Since it makes no reference to following all the normal rules for shooting (the way psychic powers do), and it never states that it replaces a shooting attack (even though the Deceiver has no other shooting attack), there is no indication that it must follow any shooting rules that are not specifically mentioned in the codex entry under the Deceiver’s Deceive ability on P.30 of the Necron Codex.
 
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top