Librarium Online Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

This is my first post, so please, be gentle.

My rules question is this: Can Grey Knights use an Inquisitorial Rhino, if it happens to be on the battlefield and unoccupied? I know the codex says that dedicated transports can only be used by the unit that they were purchased with, but didn't that change in 5th edition?

I think they can, my Tau opponent also agrees that they can, though he added "you seem to be right, but I don't like it"

Please let me know your thoughts!

Thanks,
-SuperDoop
 

·
Scourge Lord
Joined
·
1,638 Posts
As long as the GKs you're talking about are not Terminators, the answer is yes.

The only thing to remember is that the GKs cannot start the game inside the transport, since it is not dedicated to their unit. This rule is found on page 67 of the rulebook.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Yes, I was specifically referring to PAGK.

So in this case does the codex not overrule the 5th edition book?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,066 Posts
Correct, because the codex was published before the 5th edition rules.
OT: GW's line is that Codex trumps Rulebook, no matter how old the codex is. Seems bass ackward to me, but there we are.
 

·
Scourge Lord
Joined
·
1,638 Posts
Unfortunately, I can't find anywhere in the latest DH FAQ where it changes the rule that dedicated transports can only carry the units they are dedicated to. So unless someone can quote where this rule is changed, the PAGKs cannot actually use the Rhino. This is an exception to the normal rules of 5th edition.

As a note, how old the codex rule is does not matter. What is important is that the rules do not have to override any contradictions. For instance, I play Dark Eldar. Their rules are even older than DH, but their special Feel No Pain rule for Grotesques still takes precedent over the newer 5th edition version because it still works. If it didn't work (and there wasn't an errate for it), they just wouldn't be able to use it anymore.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,066 Posts
Well, this is an oops. Found in the Oct 2008 Rulebook FAQ that:
if a Codex clearly says that dedicated
transports can only be used during the game by
the unit that bought them, that overrules the
general rule in the rulebook
Still, if "... [the] opponent also agrees that they can..." :shrug:
 
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
Top