Librarium Online Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
313 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My nid friend came up with a good question, so here goes.
If you deepstrike spore mines and they scatter onto an enemy unit do they explode or are they simply removed?
 

·
Senior Member
Joined
·
301 Posts
Well if the spores are deep striking, as opposed to some special tyranid rule, then they would be destroyed, if it landed on, or withing 1" of an enemy model.

But, not having the tyranid codex infront of me at the moment, this might not be correct.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,907 Posts
The rules for deepstrike say that models landing on top of or within 1" of enemy models are destroyed. Mines that are destroyed. It doesn't appear to say "removed" or otherwise completely deleted from gameplay. It specifically uses the word "destroyed". As such, deepstriking mines that land on enemy models will detonate. One could even argue that they need only to land within 1" to detonate (though mines fired by a Biovore certainly do not detonate until contact is established).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
83 Posts
Go Boom

Looking at page 29 of the Nid Codex, it says: " If a Spore Mine makes contact with an enemy for any reason," I think that would include deep striking, since its the only way for spore mines to come into play.

That means if a spore mine cluster deepstrikes into a unit of guardsmen, then they explode like normal, using small blasts and doing it in an ordance pattern (blast markers touch).

If done right, this can be a pretty effective weapon for 36 points, especially if it takes out a model or three.

Good Hunting & Deep striking ;-)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
410 Posts
I asked this question before in the Tyranid section but no one answered.

The problem is that the phrase regarding to "for any reason" talks about the movement phase and that unlike other units, it can come within 1" of enemy models.

However, Deep Striking is not a movement per se. Meaning it's not during the movement phase. It just so happens there are "rules" to Deep Striking to which there are plenty of exceptions (no drift, can move, can assault, etc. etc.)

I would agree that if it landed on something and detonated it would be a very effective way to take out vehicles (using the AP mine). You just place the hole over the middle of the vehicle. Even if it drifts a bit, it still has a decent chance of touching the vehicle.

Some may argue you can't do that (put the hole over a unit) but it says that you place the marker anywhere ON THE TABLE. Doesn't say anything about whether or not it's on a unit.

I would like to think that it Spore Mines can Deep Strike onto vehicles and explode, but honestly, I find that too unbalancing. A cheap spore mine taking out a Land Raider? But maybe that is the case.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,907 Posts
Laplace said:
I would agree that if it landed on something and detonated it would be a very effective way to take out vehicles (using the AP mine). You just place the hole over the middle of the vehicle. Even if it drifts a bit, it still has a decent chance of touching the vehicle.

Some may argue you can't do that (put the hole over a unit) but it says that you place the marker anywhere ON THE TABLE. Doesn't say anything about whether or not it's on a unit.
Well, the rules are the same as for normal deepstriking, so it's the model that has to be placed. I do agree that it's a bit of a grey area as to if one could declare the deepstriking point as being on top of another model. What I usually do is just place the mine in base contact with an enemy model.

I would like to think that it Spore Mines can Deep Strike onto vehicles and explode, but honestly, I find that too unbalancing. A cheap spore mine taking out a Land Raider? But maybe that is the case.
Well, that's not a particularily likely scenario. With Acid Mines you'd have to roll an 11+ for penetration, which has a 1/12 chance of happening.

Just to make matters more confusing, here's another funny issue: the rules say that one treats the detonation of mines as a standard barrage. So. . . does that mean you roll for scatter again? And does it count as having been in line-of-sight or not? :wacko:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
391 Posts
Ostsol said:
Just to make matters more confusing, here's another funny issue: the rules say that one treats the detonation of mines as a standard barrage. So. . . does that mean you roll for scatter again? And does it count as having been in line-of-sight or not? :wacko:
You do treat it as a barrage but you don't scatter the first blast marker. Simply place it over whichever mine came into contact and detonated first, then scatter any extra blast markers in the barrage.

As per the detonation rules on page 29 of the Codex.

And yes, deep striking on top of or within 1" of an enemy unit will set off a Spore Mine Cluster. It was discussed at some length when the Codex first came out and that was the general consensus.
 
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
Top