Librarium Online Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Hive Fleet Pandora
Joined
·
5,068 Posts
In addition, if you're locked in combat and another unit assaults you, you can only attack the unit you were already locked in combat with on the turn they charge. Then on the next turn, you can choose which unit to attack.
 

·
Venerable Member
Joined
·
314 Posts
that one's new to me
under multiple combats on p.41, it looks like engaged units can split their attacks between the units they're engaged with.
the rules say that units that were engaged and were then charged may react by piling into either of the units
and as for splitting attacks it then says they may split their attacks between the units they're engaged with at the start of the combat (note that it says at the start of the combat, not at the start of the assault phase). in the ASSAULT PHASE, charges are declared and then moved into. after this happens, then the COMBAT is resolved
i've always played that you could allocate attacks to the unit that just charged, and i've never heard of this restriction before from anyone. was there another rule that says they can't attack a unit that subsequently charged them?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
39 Posts
That rule is a bit confusing as it says you can't attack units you were engaged with at the beginning of "combat". Its easy to think this means the beginning of the entire Assault Phase. Actually, though, combat refers to step 3 of the assault phase (pg 33). This happens after attackers move and defenders react.

The purpose of this rule is to remind you that you can only attack models that you are in base-to-base with, but if those models die before your initiative comes up, you are still able to attack them.
 

·
Hive Fleet Pandora
Joined
·
5,068 Posts
I admit it is somewhat confusing. I used to play that you could attack whichever unit you were in base contact with. Then someone pointed it out and insisted that I was doing it incorrectly and showed me the reference on p.41. I will ask this question in the Rules Help to see how most people intepret this rule.
 
1 - 8 of 8 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top