Librarium Online Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
113 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This situation came up in a game in the weekend. The Drop Pod was placed close to the table edge and could have scattered off the table with a bad direction roll and enough inches.

My Question(s);

Would the pod and unit inside be considered destroyed? And this is just the risk you have to take for trying to get them in that position.

Is "off the table" considered impassible terrain? Therefore the pod will stop 1" away and the unit is allowed to fight?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,417 Posts
If the drop pod scatters off the table, the rules don't actually cover what happens. Generally though, they stay off the board, in which case the rules cover what happens to them - they count as destroyed at the end of the game. If you count off the board as impassible terrain, you then get dodgyness such as eldar pathfinders deploying off the board - which I think is a big no no.

If the drop pod lands on friendly units, the rules again don't cover what happens. Generally, if a pod can distinguish between enemy units and impassible terrain, it can distinguish between friendly units too, and will stop short. There is no argument that it stops short or gets destroyed though, this is a complete black hole.

I'd like to say once again GW has screwed up here, we don't know what happens when a drop pod scatters off the board, we don't know what happens when a drop pod scatters onto friendly units, and we don't know if drop pods count for half victory points because they are immobile. We can say what should be done - destroyed, stops short, and no respectively, but we can't support these arguments with the RAW.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
461 Posts
well, ok, I have a rules question on this:

when a drop pod scatters over enemy troops, all troops inside the pod, and the pod itself are considered destroyed, right? or is that just for normal deep striking, not d-podding>?
 

·
Senior Member
Joined
·
948 Posts
Just DS-ing. If a Drop Pod lands on Impassible Terrain or an Enemy unit, it's moved so it's at least 1" away.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
113 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Sweet, thats what I thought should happen, just wanted to clarify what others play it as.

I play IG and opponent was SM. he risked the pod near the edge but didn't roll high enough to scatter off.
 
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top