Librarium Online Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
385 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay, so I've been playing Wood Elves for a couple of months now, and have half a dozen games, maybe a bit more, under my belt. I've seen people rave about how good Wardancers are, and at the moment I'm getting to the point where it's time to buy a new unit (I have all the Core I need, and then some Wild Rider). Now, Wardancers are the "obvious" next choice, but something troubles me:

What do Wardancers do that Dryads don't, taking points into account.

Wardancers hit hard. Dryads hit pretty hard too, and Dryads stay S4 in later rounds of comat.
Wardancers have a ward save. Dryads have a better ward save, and are T4. (yes, I know the Dryads' save is limited)
Wardancers have Magic Resistance (okay, you've got me there)
Both are immune to psychology.
Dryads cause fear, Wardancers don't.
Dryads are CHEAPER!

People screen Wardancers with Dryads because they're so fragile. Why wouldn't you just take more Dryads instead of Wardancers? No need to screen them, and you'll have ablative wounds as protection, since you can buy 3 dryads for every 2 Wardancers. Whatever a Dryad/Wardancer unit charges, you should generally have a cavalry unit charging the flank anyway, so the skirmishers should be there just to generate an extra kill or two. And Dryads will concede less casualties in any return attacks (although I'm aware Wardancers are famous for not leaving anything in the front rank to attack back).

I'm not saying Wardancers are bad, I'm just saying that I think that Dryads are good enough at what Wardancers do, and cheaper, such that I can't understand why people rave SO MUCH about Wardancers, and consider them so important that they take them as their first Special choice. (IMO, Wild Riders should always be the first choice, since the gap between them and Glade Riders is bigger than the gap between Wardancers and Dryads).

I'd be interested to hear other's opinions on this.