Librarium Online Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
172 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am really new to fantasy and dwarfs, and I need a little painting help. First of all, I have dwarf flesh, but what should I use as a base coat for the skin? Also, on slayers, I found blazing orange to be too bright, and how can I make it darker and more realistic?

If you could post links for tutorials or anything that can help me, that would be great.

·
Drills baby.
6,481 Posts
For painting skin over a black undercoat (which I am assuming that you do), starting out with a dark colour such as dark flesh is a good idea, if you want a smooth coat. Then go with tanned flesh and dwarf flesh.

As for the orange hair, try mixing a little blazing orange into, let's say, bestial brown and see what effect you get. A more brown-ish colour with a orange tint should feel a bit more realistic, yeah?

·
Registered
172 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
For painting skin over a black undercoat (which I am assuming that you do), starting out with a dark colour such as dark flesh is a good idea, if you want a smooth coat. Then go with tanned flesh and dwarf flesh.

As for the orange hair, try mixing a little blazing orange into, let's say, bestial brown and see what effect you get. A more brown-ish colour with a orange tint should feel a bit more realistic, yeah?
Yes, I am painting over a black base

and would bestial brown or scorched brown work as a substitute for dark flesh? and you don't drybrush the dwarf flesh, right?

·
318 Posts
I'm only now becoming happy with my flesh tone painting after my most recent project (Dwarf Bloodbowl team). I don't work with GW paints, and I do a lot of mixing, so I can't provide exact color references, but starting off with a base brown is best. Following that would be about a 50/50 mix of your brown, and final skin tone, finished off, of course, with the skin tone itself.