Librarium Online Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
206 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok just need some help with a few things

1. Tyranids that are within synapse range do not fall back? So if they lose combat, then its just classed as a drawn combat, and nothing further happens.

2. Genestealers don't need to be in synapse range, but do they, and other synapse creatures fall back the same as normal units, and if so, for a sweaping advance, do they use there base (I) 5, or cause they have enchancements, do they use the new (I) value.

Thats just a few, i have more but i cant remember atm, will post as the come up. Thanks for anyhelp you can give, and yes, i have the codexs and rulebook, and have read them, but am confussed.

Thanks
SB
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,023 Posts
SquishyB said:
Ok just need some help with a few things

1. Tyranids that are within synapse range do not fall back? So if they lose combat, then its just classed as a drawn combat, and nothing further happens.

2. Genestealers don't need to be in synapse range, but do they, and other synapse creatures fall back the same as normal units, and if so, for a sweaping advance, do they use there base (I) 5, or cause they have enchancements, do they use the new (I) value.

Thats just a few, i have more but i cant remember atm, will post as the come up. Thanks for anyhelp you can give, and yes, i have the codexs and rulebook, and have read them, but am confussed.

Thanks
SB
Check the rules for combat w/ "fearless" and fearless type creatures. Nids in synapse range suffer extra wounds if they lost and are outnumbered. As to falling back, if not in synapse, they use their new upgraded stats, as those are considered baselines as per the tyranid codex.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
206 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
ok thanks, where are the rules on the loss of more wounds if they are in synapse range? The entry on Fearless is only about 3 sentences long and doesnt mention anything about that, but it does clear it up.

And so Genestealers and Synapse Creatures DO fall back if they lose combat and do not pass the moral test as per usual?

Thanks again,
SB
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,023 Posts
Nids in synapse for most intents and purposes are "fearless" but don't follow those rules as such. But the "no retreat" rules nspell it out clear. bgb page 48.
Units that are fearless or those that don't take leadership checks don't fall back if they lose CC. Hope this helps point you in the right direction without breaking copyright.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,129 Posts
I know this for synapse creatures, they always pass their leadership tests regardless of what they roll. (but they always have to roll)
Beood telepathy however, I don't know but I assume it would be the same. Just don't quote me on that..yet...8)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
382 Posts
Actually they aren't considered "fearless" They just auto pass all leadership based tests. So no...they don't suffer extra wounds.

Genestealers and the like that have brood telepathy don't follow instinctive behavior outside of synapse. But outside of synapse they still can fall back due to numbers loss and in CC due to loosing the combat round, although very unlikely since they are Genestealers after all.

The only thing with the fearless ability is Carnifexs, Lictors and Broodlord I think. I dont have my codex on me at the moment. But the thing to remember is....nids under synapse are not "fearless". They just automatically make their LD tests.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,023 Posts
Loestal said:
Actually they aren't considered "fearless" They just auto pass all leadership based tests. So no...they don't suffer extra wounds.

Genestealers and the like that have brood telepathy don't follow instinctive behavior outside of synapse. But outside of synapse they still can fall back due to numbers loss and in CC due to loosing the combat round, although very unlikely since they are Genestealers after all.

The only thing with the fearless ability is Carnifexs, Lictors and Broodlord I think. I dont have my codex on me at the moment. But the thing to remember is....nids under synapse are not "fearless". They just automatically make their LD tests.
i never said they werre fearless, but they do follow the rules under no retreat, so reread that section, then get to posting=)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Lleu

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,129 Posts
tarzen said:
Nids in synapse for most intents and purposes are "fearless"
By just looking at what you posted here I'd say you did believe they were fearless by your post Tarzen.

The only thing thats different between outright saying it and what you posted are that you added for most intents and purposes...8)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,907 Posts
Yeah, No Retreat has only one relevant pre-requisite: the unit that loses combat never has to fall back. If that is the case, it is subject to No Retreat.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,023 Posts
darkreever said:
By just looking at what you posted here I'd say you did believe they were fearless by your post Tarzen.

The only thing thats different between outright saying it and what you posted are that you added for most intents and purposes...8)
No, I said for intents they are. Never-the-less, check the rules I cited. You can then happily go back to lurking or what ever you wish. As mentioned before, check the page ref and you'll see that nids in synapse are indeed sunject to "No retreat" wounds.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
716 Posts
It doesnt matter if you are fearless or you pass a test automatically (like Ostol said.) You suffer from No Retreat. In fact, SM that are caught by a sweeping advance take wounds too.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
206 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
space marines suffer wounds from sweaping advance!?!?! okay i didnt know this either.

So, lemmie get this straight

Situation A.
Squad 1 of Gaunts lose combat to a sqaud of Marines, and ARE NOT in synapse range. The Marines make a sweaping adavnce and score lower to the Nids, so therefore the squad falls back as usuall (2d6) and the Marines consolidate. The Nids fall back 8" and hence fall back into synapse range, and automaticly regroup.

Situation B.
Squad 1 of Gaunts lose combat to a sqaud of Marines, and ARE in synapse range. The nids are not outnumbered, so nothing happens, and combat continues the next turn.

Situation C.
Squad 1 of Gaunts lose combat to a sqaud of Marines, and ARE NOT in synapse range. The Marines make a sweaping adavnce and score HIGHER to the Nids, so therefore the squad is destroyed.

are these 3 situations correct or am i going down the wrong road....again?

Thanks for all your help
SB
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,907 Posts
SquishyB said:
Situation A.
Squad 1 of Gaunts lose combat to a sqaud of Marines, and ARE NOT in synapse range. The Marines make a sweaping adavnce and score lower to the Nids, so therefore the squad falls back as usuall (2d6) and the Marines consolidate. The Nids fall back 8" and hence fall back into synapse range, and automaticly regroup.
They do not automatically regroup. However, they will automatically pass the test to regroup at the beginning of the Tyranid player's next turn. Until that happens, they are very vulerable. If, for example, this happened during the Tyranid player's turn, the Marine player could step up and assault the still-broken Gaunt brood, destroying it. Of course that would put them close to whatever big, nasty Synapse Creature the Gaunts were retreating to. . .

Situation B.
Squad 1 of Gaunts lose combat to a sqaud of Marines, and ARE in synapse range. The nids are not outnumbered, so nothing happens, and combat continues the next turn.
Correct.

Situation C.
Squad 1 of Gaunts lose combat to a sqaud of Marines, and ARE NOT in synapse range. The Marines make a sweaping adavnce and score HIGHER to the Nids, so therefore the squad is destroyed.
If they the Gaunts lose combat and also failed their morale, then you are correct.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,023 Posts
Ostsol said:
They do not automatically regroup. However, they will automatically pass the test to regroup at the beginning of the Tyranid player's next turn. Until that happens, they are very vulerable. If, for example, this happened during the Tyranid player's turn, the Marine player could step up and assault the still-broken Gaunt brood, destroying it. Of course that would put them close to whatever big, nasty Synapse Creature the Gaunts were retreating to. . .
not quite right...p 48
If the unit is falling back, and they are assaulted, they get to test to rally then and there, no matter if they normally can't rally. If they fail, then they are destroyed, but if they pass, they fight combat as normal.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,907 Posts
Ah. . . well, then there's no vulnerability. *shrugs*
 

·
Too Sexy For My Whirlwind
Joined
·
1,148 Posts
Actually there still is quite a bit of vulnerability as the gaunts for example only have ld5...so if they have to take that ltest they are likely to fail, and thus be destroyed.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,907 Posts
Well, the subject was for Gaunts that flee into Synapse range. In that case, they'll automatically be able to pass their test to regroup, so the vulnerability is gone. Outside of Synapse, then yeah, they're pretty much screwed.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,023 Posts
Wasn't trying to show you wrong, just pointing out the one minor correction.
The rest of it looked good.
And I believe that answers that question (since I haven't been contested again on whether they suffer from "no retreat").
 
1 - 18 of 18 Posts
Top