Librarium Online Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
115 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am kinda new to tau and I was wondering if it would be good to have a squad of all carbines in front of a squad with pulse rifles or would it be better to mix them up. Thanks.

·
Registered
815 Posts
You can't have all Carbines. And I personaly wouldn't take any in 4th edition.

·
Registered
293 Posts
supposedly, you can have whole squads of carbines in the new codex. we'll have to wait & see. in theory, it would be a good idea, but yeah it's illegal (for now).

·
The deep down truth
5,707 Posts
squall14 said:
supposedly, you can have whole squads of carbines in the new codex. we'll have to wait & see. in theory, it would be a good idea, but yeah it's illegal (for now).
The all carbine fast deployment FW squad in a DF will be deadly when the new codex comes out, with a squad of Pathfinders stacking up th ML hits to up the BS to BS4 or 5 and the rest lowering the LDS of the targeted unit, the scope for causing casualties and pinning the survivors will be awesome.
It should be possible to wipe out a unit of Marine Devs for instance in two turns or to at least preventing them from firing, I cant wait to see the tactical possibilities this is gonna throw up.
This tactic will also make Drone squads a valuable choice as well Twin linked BS5 shots will chew up units and pin them nicely.

·
Registered
148 Posts
So you say, Onlainari, but I think Riki's got a point. A full unit of carbine-toting FW in a 'Fish is good as it stands, and they can be awesome if the new markerlight rules prove true. I don't think any single unit will ever become the IWIN for the Tau, but that doesn't mean there aren't some mean new combinations looming on our particular horizon.

·
With Oden On Our Side...
1,138 Posts
Straylight said: