Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi everyone,
i was wondering how many heavy destroyers do u use in ur armies, the codex armies use 3 but most say that 3 is just too much of st9 but how else would u take out high T creatures with multi wounds, eg. carnifex, wraithlord.

Destroyers are said to be better....... at tank hunting...... i ask why?

so i am wondering how many do u use and ur opinions on their effectiveness, i just dunno wat to get, i have 3 destroyers and i can get:

2 more normal destroyers and 1 heavy destroyer
1 more normal destroyer and 2 heavy destroyers
3 heavy destroyers

i just dunno which one and i need crons expert help. thanks.

·
Registered
103 Posts
I am not a Necron Expert but I will put in my opinion and why.

I would go with your Second Option: 1 more normal destroyer and 2 heavy destroyers

Three Heavy Destroyers is a lot of S9 shots and you will hopefully only need a couple to land and wound once. You need two of them to get there WBB roll, so 1 is not an option.

And the More Destroyers the better. 3 S6 shots a piece... sweet. all wounding on a 6 regardless of T. I roll with 5 destroyers and 1 heavy destroyer... because I am a cheap ***** and can't buy 1 more H Destroyer. Believe me every time he goes down I shoot myself in the foot. but typically just that 1 h destroyer does damage and accomplishes his mission for the short time he is on the board.

The tank hunting thing... I think becuase of the 3 shots v 1 shot... if the one shot misses.. then that is it... where as the 3 you will get at least 2 hits.

·
Registered
62 Posts
I prefer using heavy destroyers in a bigger game such as 1000-1500 in a squad of 2 as well as another squad of 3 destoryers, for example. But 3 destroyer shots vs 1 h.destro shot...hmmm I'll take the destroyers anyday.

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·