Librarium Online Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
155 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, I am pretty new to Tau, (about 5 battles) I have some suites, Fire Warriors, Stealth suites, a bunch of Kroot and three Hammerheads in my 2000 point list.

What I find is that my army has outstanding fire power with lots of St 5 and 6 weapons, but my army is not very good at taking out high armour tanks. I was suprised how often 2 or 3 Rail gun shots do nothing to an armour 14 tank.

In my last game I did manage to eventually kill one of my opponents 2 armour 14 tanks, but it was tough.

What do other people do/use?

·
391 Posts
Well railguns are a pretty good cure all but if your looking for a bit more tank popping i suggest putting Fusion blasters on your commanders.

Shas'el Plasma rifle,Fusion Blaster,Targetting array HW-Multitracker.

Thats a mean Sucker that can handle anything. including your tank busting issues.

·
391 Posts
2x1 FB equiped HQ's

2x2 FB Piranhas

1x3 BASS's

2x1 RH's

...That should do it!

Agreed all above is great at high armor popping.

·
Registered
65 Posts
Well, the two main tank-busting weapons for the tau are clearly the Railgun and the Fusion blaster. I use both in my army, so i'll try and elaborate on each a bit further.

The railgun is probably the best weapon in 40k, just looking at its stat line. highest strength lowest ap, and great range mean it kills, literally. so taking the land rader as an example, you need a 4 to get a roll on the glancing hit table or a 5 or 6 to roll on the penetrating table. this gives you a relitively good chance of hurting it. (i cant be bothered doing the mathhammer right now, sorry). But The real advantage thet drew me to using them would have to be the huge range of the weapon, you can shot at a LR or monolith without having to worry about return fire.