Librarium Online Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Now I'm new to the Hobby so bear with me please (academy program at GW on the 26th). However I wanted to know what Paints I should possibly buy right now. I bought the Citadel Spray can, as well as brushes. I am wondering though how I should do it, some people in the store recommended 2 options, white basecoat, black foundation paints, then detail, or just black primer and detail. I'm guessing, and some people told me, that priming white, than adding an undercoat of black would look better. However the store manager said the foundation black paint isn't sold seperately. What am I to do? Surely black space marines aren't a rare sight. Suggestions?

Oh and specifically I'm going Raven Guard, thanks!

EDIT: Ok So I was thinking could I just use chaos black thinned in the spray gun after a white primer? Or is there an alternative to foundation black paint? would this vallejo be ok in the spray gun http://www.warweb.com/black-model-air-p-18846.html?osCsid=a92854d8c397305e8821ab11409a65e3

ok so I guess I have a few options I guess.

I could also prime black. Then thin out a black paint and lightly paint over the models. Then prime all shoulder pads white, paint the inside black, and the trim red (since I want the red and black trim)

Or I could do the above and try to use the spray gun with chaos black thinned out? Or should I use a grey foundation paint (since its already pre measured to thin it out on the spray gun) over the blakc primed models, will it be dark enough. Orrrrrrr would mixing 2/3 grey and 1/3 black be ok to still use the standard thinning measure? Because this sounds a little easier, and I know everyone says another coat of paint will look much nicer

·
Ender of Threads
1,306 Posts
I do my Raven Guard as follows:

Prime black, with a thinned coat of chaos black applied afterwards to get a smoother finish.