Librarium Online Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Banned
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys i try to use perfect grammer, but this is not school this is the net so it hard to be proper. Anyways, I was trying out some washes and i think i got a good grip on some them but others I "Bleep Up". So i was wondering, do you guys use games work shop washes, which to me seem, think and if so do you water them down with 50/50 water ? To make a black wash with normal black paint how much would you water it down 50/50?

I am a complete novice when it comes to washes so please say it as dumbly as possible.

·
Fury of the Ages
753 Posts
hey mate,

Washes are something that you have to practice to get right. Consistency, where you wash and how much you use.

And it also depends if you want the wash to tint the paint, or to actually create darker spots as well.

If you want the wash just to tint the paint, then 70 : 30 water to paint.

To create darker areas and shades, then around 50 : 50 is okay, but this all depends on the actual paint, the colour and how much pigment is in it.

I would recommend that you just practice as much as possible! Get a mini with some different areas, and try out different consistencies.
You don't have to get right on the numbers, just get a feel for it. I never have a dropper and measure out each part carefully.

And lastly, everyone has their own style. You will find yours. Do some washes on a mini, then give yourself a day without looking at it, then have a look and ask yourself if you like what you see. :)

·
things will change
2,707 Posts
Hi guys i try to use perfect grammer, but this is not school this is the net so it hard to be proper.
Just out of interest, why do you say this?
I generally try to use whatever language I'm using as properly as possible, but then maybe this is just me.

Thanks for trying though, it is much easier to read your post.