Librarium Online Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Disclaimer: I am relatively new to wh fantasy, but...

At 1k pts it seems the high elves are fairly dominant (at least against Chaos, Ogres, and Lizards.)

It seems ranged weaponry is fairly potent in a disproportionately good way for me AND once someone does manage to bring some assault troops close to my lines, I have ample hitting power (at least for one round) with sword masters and dragon princes.

Essentially, high elves have great ranged options at low point values, have great options to bring in multiple specials and hit very hard at least for the first half of combat. My opponents are not poor optimizers as I rarely dominated in wh40k with my space marines as I have with the high elves.

So... do others share my opinion? And, it does not seem like the high elf advantage will scale to higher point games or at least the balance ought to tilt more evenly towards the assault heavy, but shooty light opponents I have in my circle of friends. I also imagine that other shooty heavy army, particularly the wood elves, would cause me great pain at 1k pts.

Thoughts?

·
Benevolent Dictator
9,222 Posts
Hmm. It'd help if you explained what type of list the enemy is taking. The three armies that you have mentioned can be extremely resistant to High Elves in ANY SIZED game.

Those are just basic troops choices, we won't get into what they can take as special and hero, and we won't talk about the ability of LMs and OKs to field massive amounts of 'weak' models.