Librarium Online Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im very new with terrain building and Im going to start my first hills tomorrrow. I scopred out the local home depot and read a lot of tutorials on the subject. Just had a few questions since there seems to be a lot of different methods to do it.

1) What thickness of pink insulation do you guys use for your standard hill? A lot of places say 1 inch thick.. Is that about right?

2) Do you guys use hard board bases for the hills? Some tutorials say that its needed since the insulation will warp.. Others say its fine without. If you use hardboard, what type of glue do you use to connect it?

3) When making tiered hills, do you guys usually spackle your hill levels together or create all single level hilled for a more modular design? That way you can place smaller hills on top to make double level hills, or keep them all seperated.

·
Scenery Shogun
917 Posts
the thickness of insulation is dependant on what ize and height of hills you want. youwant slight rises? one inch is fine.. you want a three tier / line of sight blocking/ hide a dreadnaught behind hill? You'll want more than an inch of course.

I always use hardboard/masonite whatevr you want to call it..i call it clipboard-board (that'swhat clipboards are made out of.) yes you will want it if not only to keep the hill from warping from paint/flock/sanding etc...but also it'll help weigh down the insulation so if you're moving minis around it...and you bump it..it doesn' go flying.

All my hills are made as one peiece if multi tiered ,but i have multiple hills with multiple levels... so if I want a 2 topper..i use a two topper...a four tiered...grab the 4 tiered.. etc.

Hope this helps.

·
Father of the Failed
1,170 Posts