Planning on trying the Horn of Kygor out next game. If my stupid/stubborn scar vet refuses a challenge and gets retired to a back rank, would his unit of foot saurus be affected by either of these rules?
No. The horn makes cavalry stubborn. Meaning the unit would be using the character on a cold one's unmodified leadership. If the character refuses a challenge and is moved to the back rank you cannot use his leadership.
I played the horn of kygor last week against an O&G army. I gave it to my Slann who was with his temple guard. On either side of the TG was a unit of spear saurus with a mounted scar vet in each providing the stubborn rule to them via the horn. My opponent charged his warboss / black orc unit into the spear saurus on the left, I held naturally. I was about to flank the black orcs with my center TG unit but I ended up getting held up by a pair of STONE TROLLS of all things for like 3 turns. My other block of saurus was fighting a large unit of big uns with a bsb and I had already commited my stegadon to my right flank. I think the O&G player scored a minor victory in the end thanks to those damn trolls. I must say the kygor list showed some potential but for what it gains in stability, it loses out in firepower. Next time I run it, I will be trying one less block of saurus in favour of a unit of cavalry with a scar vet. That being said, I wonder if its even worth the 100pts to make one unit of saurus stubborn.
A forum community dedicated to Wargamers, Wargaming 40K enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about Warhammer and Wargaming collections, miniatures, tactics, terrain, reviews, accessories, history, displays, models, styles, scales, reviews, accessories, classifieds, and more!