Librarium Online Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How do you guys decide what to put in your lists? I'm relatively new to Tyranids, but the more I read through the codex the more I want to buy. Every unit I'm like "Oh that's cool, I could use that in this way", for every unit! I don't have games as often as I'd like, and prior to every game I consider swapping out half the army and using a different strategy with different units! What is a boy to do?

·
Registered
253 Posts
When you make a list you have 3 things to think about:

anti-infantry
anti-tank
anti-characters and monstruous creatures

With this in mind you have to make a reliable list against this 3 types of units. For example: hormagaunts are very good as anti-infantry but fails in th other 2 tasks, now if you upgrade them with toxin sacs they will be very reliable against infantry and characters/monstruos creatures. A space marines unit is better than us doing this because they can be good at all just buying diferent weapons so we need to take different units to work alltogether to reach the victory.

·
Registered
77 Posts
Most of the time my choice is based upon what army my opponent is using. Sometimes I pick units depending on what I feel like using e.g. today I feel like fielding a swarm, winged units or something along those lines. Also, I always try including a balanced number of anti tank and anti infantry units, keeping in mind a role for each specific model e.g. during this turn I'll attempt doing this, this unit will do that and so on. If you think about what you want certain things to do, based on what they're capable of you should finally be able to make a reasonable choice.

Hope that helps a bit :)

·
I am a free man!
4,941 Posts
Kind of what mente enjambre said. You need to build a list that is capable of handling anything an enemy might put on the table.

* Monstrous creatures
* Transports
* Heavily armoured mainline battle tanks