Librarium Online Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Son of LO
Joined
·
4,529 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay, we know that a unit can start the game with an attached independent character in its transport. But what about the other way around?

For example.. An elite choice inquisitor can take a land raider as a transport option.. If he has no retinue, can he join another unit and then start the game with both inside the Land Raider?
 

·
The Fallen
Joined
·
7,745 Posts
and in any cas ethe answer would be no - if an IC joins a squad, then the IC can use the squads transport, but not vica verca, the transport was not bought for the squad so it can not use it
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
410 Posts
The_Giant_Mantis said:
Okay, we know that a unit can start the game with an attached independent character in its transport. But what about the other way around?

For example.. An elite choice inquisitor can take a land raider as a transport option.. If he has no retinue, can he join another unit and then start the game with both inside the Land Raider?
As stated, the Inq Lord MUST take a retinue.

However, since the LR was bought really for him, say the retinue dies and he's left. He is now an indep char again. He can then join another squad and now THEY can enter the LR.

This is the only way people outside of the Inq Lord (and formerly alive retinue) can enter the LR.
 

·
The Fallen
Joined
·
7,745 Posts
Laplace said:
As stated, the Inq Lord MUST take a retinue.

However, since the LR was bought really for him, say the retinue dies and he's left. He is now an indep char again. He can then join another squad and now THEY can enter the LR.

This is the only way people outside of the Inq Lord (and formerly alive retinue) can enter the LR.
Nope I dissagree, the operator here is JOIN, the =][= JOINS the squad, using an SOB squad as an example, an +][= lord looses its retinue, but not its LR, the lord then joins and SOB squad, you now have 2 units on the table, an SOB squad and an LR which is a dedicated transport for the =][= lord and his retinue, until the lord leaves the sob squad, the transport can not carry anything
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,129 Posts
Laplace, wanna point out that Mantis is talking about using a normal inquisitor (the elite choice like he says in his post), not that damned lord. (lord or not retinue should still be optional.)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
410 Posts
Cheredanine said:
Nope I dissagree, the operator here is JOIN, the =][= JOINS the squad, using an SOB squad as an example, an +][= lord looses its retinue, but not its LR, the lord then joins and SOB squad, you now have 2 units on the table, an SOB squad and an LR which is a dedicated transport for the =][= lord and his retinue, until the lord leaves the sob squad, the transport can not carry anything
Hmm, I see your point. Although it doesn't seem to make much logical sense it would be aligned more with what is printed.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
410 Posts
darkreever said:
Laplace, wanna point out that Mantis is talking about using a normal inquisitor (the elite choice like he says in his post), not that damned lord. (lord or not retinue should still be optional.)
Oh, sorry my bad.

Fact is a regular Inq CANNOT take a LR as a transport option. So that's what threw me off and I thought it was Lord.
 

·
The Fallen
Joined
·
7,745 Posts
Lets be fair the whole rule set doesnt make that much sense, if all I got left on the field is a foot squad of SM and a rhino from a different squad, why wouldnt they cadge a lift?
 

·
No Rest For the Righteous
Joined
·
1,140 Posts
I guess it's to keep people from getting just 1 transport and using it to taxi all the squads around. It could get pretty lame especially with fast transports and skimmers.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
953 Posts
Cheredanine said:
Lets be fair the whole rule set doesnt make that much sense, if all I got left on the field is a foot squad of SM and a rhino from a different squad, why wouldnt they cadge a lift?
If we're going that far I see no reason why another unit can't jump on top to hitch a ride also. Sure, they act as albative armor when the transport comes under fire but I don't see why it shouldn't be allowed.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
410 Posts
I do understand the logic of why you can't break up a squad if it can't all fit in a transport (unit cohesion), but I do not understand why they insist that a Rhino assigned to an original squad cannot carry anyone else the entire game if that squad is dead or if it's size 5 and another unit of size 5 can't go along for the ride.

It must have something to do with balancing, because in terms of realism it is one of the most unrealistic things in the 40K universe.

I would rather have the rules be the following:
- You can take any transport but for every transport of a certain type there must be a certain type of something it can carry in the force (no buying Rhinos if all you have are Terminators or no buying 3 Rhinos if you only have 2 squads)
- Only whole squads can go in, but multiple squads can go in if there is room for multiple squads..
- Allies can ride in other people's transports unless there is a rule stating otherwise (e.g. Immolators can only carry Adeptis Sorotis, etc).

This would allow you to have a LRC carry both some termies and some regular guys (termies take 2 slots, guys, 1).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,023 Posts
LordCreampuff said:
If we're going that far I see no reason why another unit can't jump on top to hitch a ride also. Sure, they act as albative armor when the transport comes under fire but I don't see why it shouldn't be allowed.

as to the marines catching a ride inside another's transport, it's because they have their names on their seats. And you know how marines get around, you don't want to be drinking from some other marines soda can and pick up that nurgle lip funk.

And we all know that models can't stand on one another, as this is covered in bases and moving. But ya, I would love to have a squad of guardians scampering around my falcon, taking 1/2 hits. Then my Falcon really would be invulnerable=)
 

·
Son of LO
Joined
·
4,529 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·
Reason.. it would make the game confusing, and lead to endless arguments like 'You put your tactical squad in that rhino!', 'No I didn't, it's in this rhino with this squad and this independent character!' The way things are is much simpler.

But I have a question along these lines, now that things seem to be being resolved. I don't have any books with me right now, and I'd like to check, is it possible for a squad to purchase multiple transport options, and only ride in one of them?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,907 Posts
The_Giant_Mantis said:
Reason.. it would make the game confusing, and lead to endless arguments like 'You put your tactical squad in that rhino!', 'No I didn't, it's in this rhino with this squad and this independent character!' The way things are is much simpler.
Why would it be confusing? If a player can't do something so simple as keep track of his own units, he shouldn't be playing.
 

·
No Rest For the Righteous
Joined
·
1,140 Posts
I think the wording on it is "the squad may purchase a [transport} at +x points". It is worded as singular, so in that sense they are only permitting you to buy 1 per squad.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
355 Posts
LordCreampuff said:
If we're going that far I see no reason why another unit can't jump on top to hitch a ride also. Sure, they act as albative armor when the transport comes under fire but I don't see why it shouldn't be allowed.
In the grim darkness of the far future there are still seatbelt laws...

Now back in the 70's that would have been legal. Imagine the Emperor's Drive-In on $5 per Rhino-load night!:w00t:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,907 Posts
Marine Tactical Squads are a bit different in the wording. Basically it says: "A squad with x or less models may purchase a XX transport. A squad with y or less models may purchase a YY transpot." So technically it may follow that a squad whose models number less than x and y may purchase both transports.
 
1 - 18 of 18 Posts
Top