Hi,As much as I respect Darkreever, i'm gonna disagree here. The only rule about stating anything is listed about keeping keeping transported units "hidden". In short, after deployment of normal troops, you both roll to see who deploys their first set of infiltrators. As for deepstrike, since they are not deploying, there is no need to say "I have a squad of termies to DS". Just start rolling turn 2 and you're golden.
Hi,Unless you're completely clueless it's pretty obvious what is going to be ds'ing. I mean someone who holds two lictors off the table isn't fooling me any.. i know what they are there for. Same goes with Termies or what have you...
- Edited as what i wrote was wrong - I've been reading tourney rules and remembering them as GW standard. Apologies.
After checking thorougly - my view is now that you don't have to declare either. after finishing standard deployment it would be polite to say you have infiltrators, and you're forced to roll for each unit in reserve (deep striking) - giving away how many you have, but that's slots in the organisation chart whether or not it's for example: Junior officer & 5 squads - we all roll to come out of deep strike together on one dice, / or deploy as one choice while infiltrating.
for those with both - say a army with Drop troops, and you gave them light infantry you can decide as you reach the different deployment steps how you want to do it. (see IG FAQ - you can deploy "parts" of a squad seperate if they've got the doctrines
a Junior officer with 5x squads, drop troops doctrine and Light infantry doctrine (paid for):
you could deploy one squad during normal deployment as a troop choice, then when you get to infiltrate deploy 3 squads - all in the same "placement", then drop the command squad and the last infantry squad on one reserves roll.
I've been practicing with Shaeffers last chancers recently. I have sharpened it into being horrid.