Further, there is nothing in the rules that says a model is dead when it has 0 wounds left. In fact, it's wounds profile always stay constant.
But, when enough wounds have been inflicted to match the number in the stats, then it can no longer battle on.
Unless you get some strange rule like Abaddon's Demon blade (or tank shock I suppose) where you inflict zero wounds but it still dies.
I'm not familiar with abbadons blade rules, but instand death and force weapons both outline the simple statement that one wound is all it takes. It doesn't remove any more wounds, doesn't inflict any more, just remove the model as a casualty. That's what it's really all about. Inflicting wounds. The rules tell you how to inflict them, and they say add up all the wounds for a dead model, and count those as inflicted. tank shock and models falling off the board, or models the deep strike into impassable terrain are in the same boat. No where in those rules does it mention that they take wounds. Just that they are dead.
I would not say "clearly" as there is so much debate over it, but again, I can be convinced from prior prejudices based upon pressing people to their point.
if you check reina1's comments about srintaur, and check srintaurs comments in the posts mentioned, you'll find he will stick with a proven wrong stance for 3-5 pages worth of threads. The really funny thing is how many people blast reina1, and then side with him.
I still think it's quirkly that a squad with Abaddon can LOSE close combat if Ab's blade kills something with its blade and only has one of his guys killed in return, or that a squad of marines loses cc because they took 2 casualties even though they killed a dread (or sentinal, or whatever) with 1 penetrating hit and have to roll to run away.
I think it's quirky that a machine gun can cut through army better than a focused laser that is designed to do so (asscan vs lascannon), or that the rules allow you to form an unassaultable ring of cheese, or that if I'm on the front right side of your tank-in the right "side" area- and there's another tank positioned in such a manner that I can only see your front side, that the hit is still counted as a shot vs the side armour. Or even the whole combat resolution to begin with. I attack and kill 3 of your guys and you kill 2 of mine (even thogh I have 8 X more), I decide to pack up and run away, and you cut All of my guys down.
Yeah, as you'll find there, it's an amusing thread. Oh, another good one is the apothicary and wound assignment one between reina1 and srintaur. shown on the first page what the answer is, and srintaur drags it out 3 or so pages.