Librarium Online Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Welcome, I'd like to first introduce myself a little. I'm a student and a fan of the Warhammer 40k universe. I was always amazed by stories of the space marines, be it in the games or the lexicanum or books (havent read almost none though, yet).
We're playing an RPG from the 40k universe and we've chosen to be Iron Hands (because we couldn't agree on whom to choose). A few games passed and I've decided to buy a tactical marine squad to represent ourselves in the RPG. I'm trying to learn step by step, so I try new stuff each time, when I do a new figure. Due to that, there is still a lack of for example a well done base. I'll be attending to that on the next ones.
To this day I have 4 marines (1 of which doesn't have his weapon yet, because of my sluggish assembly). Next up are the sergeant and a marine with a rocket launcher.
Anyway, to the point of this thread. Since I just started painting, there are many things which need to be improved. On the next models I'll also start thinning the paint. I believe, it'll do quite a difference. Now for the questions.
I'd like to ask you skilled painters or Iron hands fans, how can I liven them up?
Any suggestions for the Iron Father/Chaplain? I'd like to make one, but I'm not quite sure how.
A bit of a fluff question - when a marine gets his power armour, implants and is promoted to a full fledged battlebrother, as an Iron hand, does he have any visible bionics except the iron hand itself?
I heard something about a sealing spray which is supposed to keep the colors on the figures for longer periods of time. Is it really needed? Do you have any problems with the colors fading too soon?
Has anyone tried painting something really small with his hair ? (the text on the purity seals for example)
I'm having problems with painting circles. Do you guys have some kinda trick to make it easier? Or is it just training?