Librarium Online Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Hey all 8Y

This is pretty much my first time seriously sitting down to think and test some paint styles for my IWs.

Even though i didn't really take my time, these following photos are strictly test models to see what effects I could get. Again this is my first time doing this, learning to proper way to ink and wash. Drybrushing being a common word thrown around even though no one ever goes on to say how to hold the brush nor how hard you should be pressing the brush on the model, all new stuff to me.

First I tryed to follow the simple "typicial" IW methods, Bolter base with a bunch of lighter drybrush highlights. But im extremely parshial(sp?) to the weathered look. I don't mind the bright looking IWs, but when I think of them I think dirty 'dug in for years' battered look. So next I tryed a *foundation* granite base with tin bitz, bolter, chainmail, mithril drybrushing probably more and darkened with chestnut inking.

The gold the silver mini is shining gold only, the darker mini is a mix of leather and bronzed flesh, with a shining gold highlight.

These Photos do not give them justice I took them in a dark room and are about 10 to 15% brighter.

http://i218.photobucket.com/albums/cc150/wartoast/DSCF1998.jpg
http://i218.photobucket.com/albums/cc150/wartoast/DSCF2001.jpg
http://i218.photobucket.com/albums/cc150/wartoast/DSCF1999.jpg
http://i218.photobucket.com/albums/cc150/wartoast/DSCF2000.jpg
http://i218.photobucket.com/albums/cc150/wartoast/DSCF2003.jpg
http://i218.photobucket.com/albums/cc150/wartoast/DSCF2002.jpg

Any CC would be great or maybe some more ideas to make these guys better, before I start working on the final project!

Thanks guys!

·
things will change
2,707 Posts
OK, well, looking at them from a purely 'colour' point of view, I like them.
The gunmetals seem nice and moody, and your golds contrast nicely.