Librarium Online Forums banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,263 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
iv'e seen more than a few lists with this kind of canoness and i'm asking why?, i can't see anything that makes it worth it to do that?, am i missing somthing cus although more expensive wouldn't it be better to give her a bodyguard of celestians? :(
 

·
LO Zealot
Joined
·
1,331 Posts
actually it ends up cheaper if you give her a specific task instead of tooling her with everything thats is good. For example:

Cannoness:
jump pack
blessed wapon

Cannoness:
Jump Pack
Inferno pistol

Thing is she just doesn't need all that much equipment. As amazing as she might be her combat ability still falls short of some of the other HQ choices, eg a DE lord
 

·
LO's Shadow Captain
Joined
·
12,783 Posts
Plague_00 said:
iv'e seen more than a few lists with this kind of canoness and i'm asking why?, i can't see anything that makes it worth it to do that?, am i missing somthing cus although more expensive wouldn't it be better to give her a bodyguard of celestians? :(
The Jump Pack allows her to, basically, run around with a lot of mobility, and get to where she is needed. In CC, which is one of the better areas for her, the Celestian bodyguards don't really make a huge difference, due to IC rules - so, you could just run her by herself, use her IC status effectively to keep away from shooting, and assault with another squad, etc. etc.

The Jump Pack allows her to move around a lot faster than normal, without having to worry about buying a transport.

Heiromyo said:
Thing is she just doesn't need all that much equipment. As amazing as she might be her combat ability still falls short of some of the other HQ choices, eg a DE lord
True, however, you don't need to throw her against a DE Lord... or anything like that. She can kill standard troops well enough, so, if you're going for a CC kick, attack them. It's silly to assault something that is obviously more powerful than she.



100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,263 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 · (Edited)
really cus unless the de lord was using that force feild thingy i would have though tthat a canoness would stand a reasonable chance. Also my =][= lord completely owned two of these guys in the one game taking fire from blasters and darklance sthe whole way (although still alive at the end of the game all that was left was a familiar the chared remains of 10 other henchmen and the once pround chimera and about 1 wound let on her)

i think i'll head this off before a debate starts and the topic of this thread gets forgotten
 

·
LO's Shadow Captain
Joined
·
12,783 Posts
Plague_00 said:
really cus unless the de lord was using that force feild thingy i would have though tthat a canoness would stand a reasonable chance. Also my =][= lord completely owned two of these guys in the one game taking fire from blasters and darklance sthe whole way (although still alive at the end of the game all that was left was a familiar the chared remains of 10 other henchmen and the once pround chimera and about 1 wound let on her)
If an assault-based DE Lord does not take a Shadow Field, I would be shocked. Unless, of course, it is a Wych Lord, in which case the 4+ inv. is enough (IMO).



100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3
 

·
LO Zealot
Joined
·
1,331 Posts
really cus unless the de lord was using that force feild thingy i would have though tthat a canoness would stand a reasonable chance. Also my =][= lord completely owned two of these guys in the one game taking fire from blasters and darklance sthe whole way (although still alive at the end of the game all that was left was a familiar the chared remains of 10 other henchmen and the once pround chimera and about 1 wound let on her)
yeh i would be shocked if the force feild wasn;t taken, plus the situationn you described is like a one off or the DE lords weren't beefed up. Seriously, a beefed up DE lord with incubi bodygaurds mounted in a raider is like one of the most powerful combat units in the game.
 

·
Drills baby.
Joined
·
6,481 Posts
Heiromyo said:
Seriously, a beefed up DE lord with incubi bodygaurds mounted in a raider is like one of the most powerful combat units in the game.
On the charge you would get at least 30 power weapon attacks, am I wrong?
That kicks most enemies, even The Nightbriner should wath his back 'cus of that damn Agiator.

I think a jump pack Cannoness can be good (altough I have never used one). Jump around and hunt tanks or take down small squads and with a Seraphim squad nerby she wouldn't get shot at either.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,263 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
uh uh i would never handicap my seraphim by putting the canoness inside, the greatest str of the seraphim is hit and run which they lose if they have to babysit the canoness.
 

·
LO's Shadow Captain
Joined
·
12,783 Posts
Da Mighty Camel said:
Well, i never would use her in a squad. I just keep them nerby so the enemy don't shoot her (as I said before).

Booya! A 1000 posts!
Letting her hang with the Seraphim is a good idea, especially in an assault - she can use them to help her out, but since she's just a one-model unit, those "roll more than the number of squad members" Faiths, etc. will always be put to good use. She'll also be protected from enemy shooting by her IC status.



100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3
 

·
LO's Shadow Captain
Joined
·
12,783 Posts

·
LO Zealot
Joined
·
1,331 Posts
ah yes i agree with nemesis, if my cannoness ever gets equipped with a jump pack she tends to hang around with the seraphim unit though not actually joining the unit itself. It prevents her from being shot at and still allows the seraphim to do hit and run.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
177 Posts
a beefed up DE lord with incubi bodygaurds mounted in a raider is like one of the most powerful combat units in the game.
That they are, and i have played DE since they were first released, so they are also a complete waste of points, its a unit that will never make combat at full strength if at all.
 

·
LO's Shadow Captain
Joined
·
12,783 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
177 Posts
If you play 'em right you should have no problem to get them into CC barly scratched.
Fantasy, complete fantasy. If your making combat with them in every game you play at full or near to full strength, then you really need to take a measure of the caliber of the people you play against, i play against alot of MoAB and GT winners, and i'll tell ya with Raiders being open topped and you needing to display which unit is riding inside, glancing hit or not its going to get shot and explode very quickly, because they know what your Lord is capable of and supported by a unit of HTH specialists with strength 4 power weapons they will have a hard time making it across the board, as for playing them right your Raider can't remain hidden the whole game unless you want jungle terrain everywhere, and shielding it with two other Raiders is a waste of time, army and points. Your better off leaving the Raiders as Troop squads and taking the Lord on a Jetbike and sticking him next to a squad of Reaver Jetbikes.
 

·
LO's Shadow Captain
Joined
·
12,783 Posts
Read the rulebook again.

You don't have to display what unit is inside which Raider, open topped or not.

Maybe in 3rd Edition, but not in 4th Edition. There was a big debate about it, but it states it in the rulebook.

I'll edit this post with a page reference when I find it.

edit: Or, rather, you could find me where it states you have to show what's inside. That would work just as easily.

edit2: I did a search in the Rules Help forum, and came up with several topics about the issue - all of them ended with people stating the secrecy rules from the rulebook, which is that you do not need to tell your opponent which squad is in which open topped vehicle. I read that it was right before the scenarios section in the rulebook - I'm still looking for a direct page reference, however.

edit3: Got it. Page 81:

A note on secrecy. Your opponent cannot normally inspect your army roster, including asking you what is in each transport vehicle.
That says that, even in an open topped transport, the models are not on show, and you do not have to tell your opponent what is in them. I will correct myself when you find the rule stating that models must be displayed on an open topped vehicle. :yes:



100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3
 
1 - 20 of 45 Posts
Top