Librarium Online Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
übertyrant
332 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've decided my 40K army will be space marines. I also play fantasy and always start out at 500pts with an army. I've already got the codex, but this is my 1st ever 40K army, so I'm new to the whole weapons thing. I want to include a lot of marines in my 500pts army, and was thinking of buying a command squad and 2 tactical squad boxes. With upgrades, this will be about 500pts. The only thing is I have no idea what to arm them with. Help on this is welcome as are good sample 500pt army lists with a good number of marines 8Y

·
is coming out to play
991 Posts
I've decided my 40K army will be space marines. I also play fantasy and always start out at 500pts with an army. I've already got the codex, but this is my 1st ever 40K army, so I'm new to the whole weapons thing. I want to include a lot of marines in my 500pts army, and was thinking of buying a command squad and 2 tactical squad boxes. With upgrades, this will be about 500pts. The only thing is I have no idea what to arm them with. Help on this is welcome as are good sample 500pt army lists with a good number of marines 8Y
Well the 2 troops choices, and the command squad box is standard organization. So that is one way to go. For 500 points that is around that if you have a command squad or just a commander with upgrades.

·
Banned
2,425 Posts
Assuming you're not playing any sort of really fancy Chapter you'd be best to go with something like the following:

Tactical Squad
Veteran Sergeant
- Bolt pistol
- Power fist
9 Space Marines
- 1 with melta/plasma gun
- 1 with lascannon/missile launcher
- 7 with bolters

Get a couple of units like these and then a Librarian or Chaplain to lead your army. That'll take you past the 500 point mark and you'll have a nice, solid core to your army.