Librarium Online Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've recently started playing 40k, and have about a 2500 pt vanilla Space marine army. heavy on tac squads and rino's. I dont have any Fast yet but plan on deploying with 2 assalt squads one with jetpacks and one without deploying from a land raider. My buddy indicated that you cant combine a Typhoon/Tornado with a Landspeeder Squadron (only 1 per each unit allowed). I cant find anything in the codex or in the 40k rule book stating that they cant be mixed and matched. The sidebar entry for landspeeders indicates they are feildable in units up to 3 and that the typhoon and tornado's are upgrades. So what gives. It would be nice to spend the points and place a tornado in the landspeeder squadron and save the force slot for my assault units. Some one point me in the right direction please.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,576 Posts
The Typhoon and Tornado are not upgrades. The land speeder squadron is for normal land speeders. These are the ones normally armed with a heavy bolter, upgradeable to a multi-melta (DA can also mount an assault cannon on them in addition to this). They are taken in squadrons of 1-3 vehicles. The Tornado and Typhoon are different land speeders. If you take one of these it is only a single vehicle (not a squadron of 2 or more), and occupies a fast attack slot. They cannot be taken in a squadron of normal land speeders, as they are a completely separate entry.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
131 Posts
It would be cool if you could add one tornado or typhoon to a regular speeder squadron in the same way that a bike squad can have an attack bike.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
131 Posts
One can only hope! The current SM codex is sorely in need of some attention, although the ability to include allied Daemonhunters units helps bring back some of the balance between Loyalist and Chaos Space Marine armies.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Hey guys, thats all well and good. But I got that from the rule book and my "Pal", I'm just looking for something in writing other then Army Builder that states I can only take one of either or the Typhoon and Tornado.

and ur so right Firehawks916 being able to add one to a squadron would be so helpfull. :rolleyes:
 
1 - 6 of 6 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top