Librarium Online Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This one is a bit tricky...

Grots and squigs can be taken by a leader as wargear (in fact, the ork leader comes with an attack squig mounted on his arm).

The codex says that grots and squigs need to be represented by their own models, must keep coherency distance. It also says there, or in the faq (can't remember which off the top of my head) that they count toward the squads casualty count and losses, can be removed as casualties, ...

The wartrukk rules even get into this saying "If the Warboss and his bodyguard number ten models or less (including squigs, Grots, etc) they may be mounted in a wartrukk ..."

The point being that over and over I'm seeing the grots and squigs, if picked as wargear, count toward the squad that the leader is a part of. And therefore, make a leader a non-independent character if he picks that as wargear.

pg 74 of the rulebook says a independent characters "are represented by individual models".

If a leader picks grots/squigs/etc as wargear, and he doesn't start in his HQ squad of nobz and such, he cannot during a battle join another squad (only an independent character can do that). He doesn't get the independent characters movement bonus through difficult terrain. And he isn't covered in the shooting special rule for independent characters.


Guys, I think this is right, but I also think its lame :blink: . Anybody know if this has been discussed in the past and ruled on officially?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,575 Posts
It retains independant character status, as the models are wargear, classified as 'followers'. They follow the character, but he still counts as independant.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
opinion? Or something from the book?

If its something from the book, please point me to it.. I know this is going to come up if I pick a leader with squigs.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,575 Posts
I'm not sure if this is in the BBB, but I think I've seen it in either codex or FAQ of CSM and/or Orks. I know for a fact that it's a rule, I just can't remember where it's located.
 
1 - 4 of 4 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top