Librarium Online Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
723 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
no, doesn't belong in the GK thread. can i reroll any to hits with veil of time, even allied GK's? this pertains to any ally. does it all count? please help. i got an idea that will destroy everything.

also, do you need an hq choice of an allied army? everyone who has posted here is very belligerent.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,919 Posts
Veil of time allows you to re-roll for the Librarian only. If you've been using it any other way I'm afraid you've been using the power incorrectly.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
723 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
what!?!?!:wacko: :( :wacko: that's crappy! for me anyways...... where does it say that? there are no specifics on that. i just read it over and over. it said he could use it, but it didn't say he could only use it on himself.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
723 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 · (Edited)
ya...... but, wait, what? that is real confusing. how can a piece of plastic decide things? it doesn't have a brain. i am almost a fully functional human being and i can't do that. on a serious note, he can stop time. why wouldn'yt he help out his battle brothers? also, why does it cost thirty points to an epistolary? that's alot.
 

·
LO's Shadow Captain
Joined
·
12,783 Posts
XenomarinesKiller said:
ya...... but, wait, what?
Does it say you may re-roll for anything other than the Librarian?

Nope.

Only the Librarian may re-roll - it does not state that the power can be spread to any attached squad. The Librarian chooses whatever he wants to re-roll, but he can't make the other models re-roll things.

edit: Also, if it helps, the power only applies to the Librarian according to a page on the GW site.. the Librarian tactica. Nothing about the power spreading to the squad he is attached to.



100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
723 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
read the rest of the post i just edited. also, where does it say he can't reroll for others?
?
 

·
LO's Shadow Captain
Joined
·
12,783 Posts
XenomarinesKiller said:
read the rest of the post i just edited. also, where does it say he can't reroll for others?
?
He doesn't stop time.

He slips out of time... so he is the only one outside of time. The rest of the squad would be fighting as normal.. which is why he would be the only one to get the benefits.

And, you're right, as far as not specifically stating it crystal clear - but GW has a knack for doing that, y'know. ;) They won't let you use it like that in Tourneys, and it just is the way it goes.

We can go on a "it doesn't say that/where does it say that" sort of debate forever, but in the end, "no" is simply the answer.

Which does suck, I know - I originally thought the exact same as you do. :yes:



100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
723 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
well, if he slips out of time he could even take a bubble bath. why couldn't he stroll over and help the other little SM troops out of a bind? that would be to everyone's benefit. that's the only smart way to go. well, off to dinner, then boy scouts, bye.
 

·
LO's Shadow Captain
Joined
·
12,783 Posts
XenomarinesKiller said:
well, if he slips out of time he could even take a bubble bath. why couldn't he stroll over and help the other little SM troops out of a bind? that would be to everyone's benefit. that's the only smart way to go. well, off to dinner, then boy scouts, bye.
His helping people is represented by his ability to re-roll.

Why would his buddies get a re-roll if he walks up to someone and cuts them down?



100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
723 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
it is represented this way because the animal could be swinging already, and could still hit with momentum in real time.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,066 Posts
I am having real trouble figuring out exactly what the points in a few of the above posts have been, but here is a direct quote:
Codex:Space Marines; p 26 said:
...In that time the Librarian can choose to re-roll any...
So, straight from the codex, the Librarian. Not "the target" or "the Librarian and his squad", not even "the Librarian, his wife, his wife's servants, his wife's servants tennis partners, and this chap he met in the mess called Bernard" (a reference, don't worry if you don't get it).
Quite specific, and exactly what Addoran said in post #2.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,919 Posts
The best advice I can give you is stop trying to justify the rules with fluff. Half the rules make no sense as they are, interpreting them fluffily usually brings you the wrong conclusion.

And to re-iterate the correct interpretation: Veil of Time may only be used on the Librarian's rolls himself.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
723 Posts
Discussion Starter · #16 ·
wow, thats the crappiest rule for it's points value. librarians aren't all they seem. i still think i am right. don't even bother posting to refute me. won't do a thing.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
396 Posts
one of the interesting things about this game is that it doesnt matter what you think the rules say, ultimately its up to the tournament organizer, and they all agree with us. besides, if the power worked the way you think it does, I would pay like 200 pts for just that.
 

·
Too Sexy For My Whirlwind
Joined
·
1,148 Posts
This is taking me back to the destroyer toughness thread.....

You'll be the second person in as many weeks on this board then that actually is cheating because they suck that bad. VoT is still by far one of the most dangerous pyschic powers as it makes the librarian a real CC powerhouse. The rules are written for a purpose, they are not there to be interpreted in your own way, they are generally pretty clear. If you and your opponent come to a decision about a rule then thats fine, but you just deciding that your going to change the rules because you feel like it is the worst sort of sportsmanship.

The rule on VoT is VERY clear, we don't really care if you think your right, the fact is your wrong. Next time you ask for help, I suggest you take the advice given, especially when its backed up by several other people.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
328 Posts
Quote

Corianis said:
So, straight from the codex, the Librarian. Not "the target" or "the Librarian and his squad", not even "the Librarian, his wife, his wife's servants, his wife's servants tennis partners, and this chap he met in the mess called Bernard" (a reference, don't worry if you don't get it).
Blackadder, when Captain Darling is listing off who all knows about the upcoming "secret" British attack.

Great show.

Valerian
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
107 Posts
XenomarinesKiller said:
ya...... but, wait, what? that is real confusing. how can a piece of plastic decide things? it doesn't have a brain. i am almost a fully functional human being and i can't do that. on a serious note, he can stop time. why wouldn'yt he help out his battle brothers? also, why does it cost thirty points to an epistolary? that's alot.

It only costs 30 points for an epistolary if he's taking it as his second power. Otherwise it replaces Storm of the Emperor's Wrath and costs 10 points. Those alternate costs reflect an Epistolary's ability to know two powers, and the second point cost are the cost if they are not trading in Storm and simply gaining an extra power.
 
1 - 20 of 21 Posts
Top