Librarium Online Forums banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
361 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone seen the new malanthrope and ripper models on forgeworld? I'm getting angrier by the day. First, I can't get people to let me use floating spore mines. Now I really want to use that Malanthrope ( 140 pts for a monster that takes out whole units with fleet and automatic wounds ). Is he better than an Uberflex? I sure hope spome of these models get into a Chapter Approved so I can use them without permission. I'll be fielding a Malanthrope, a Death Leaper and floating spore mines. I'll drop[ down from above and detonate em right in the middle of my opponents lines.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,907 Posts
It certainly is a rather interesting unit, much more so than the Trygon. I love those new Ripper Swarm models, too!

The Broodnest is also a very cool idea. Not quite like a Webway Portal or Wraithgate, but very nice indeed.
 

·
Supreme Evil Overlord
Joined
·
4,873 Posts
their all very nice models and Ill certainly add them to my hivefleet in april when I make my next FW order.
I'm lucky that opponennts also use Fw so I won't have a problem fielding these beasts.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
361 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I would love to use Brood Nests for my stealers - its basically 30 points for infiltration the only penalty being starting at the table edge if its destroyed. I can even assault on the turn I arrive. No one i know will ever allow me to use these guys. With a Lictors in your force you have a very good chance of attacking on turn two and never worrying about cover. That is yet another unit I want to see in a Chapter Approved and m,ade legal.

Big wish list ...
Aerial Spore mines
Broodnest
Death Leaper
Malanthrope

The Trygon is bit expensive for my taste. But I would definately fierld all of the above if they were legal.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
410 Posts
I'm not too impressed with the Malanthrope, esp since it sucks up a valuable HQ slot.

However the Brood Nest IS something that is worth getting. It's cheap, fairly durable, and best of all, units that pop out of there get their full turn's worth of movement and attacks.

What I'm curious of is its classification. It only has a Wounds, Toughness and Save. No WS, so does that mean you CAN'T assault it? Does it count as an independent char shield like other units? Is it considered terrain at all?

Would like some clarification on these.

But yes, I definitely plan on getting myself some.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
361 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
My understanding is that it is attached to the unit that uses it, i.e., if genestealers use it it is part of that squad. It has a toughness so why can't it be assaulted? Like a drop pod but not quite as it starts on the table.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
39 Posts
bebe: You may wish to use slightly more care when developing a title for a thread. At first glance I was certain that you disapproved of the new Forgeworld models. I had to read your thread twice to realize that you actually regard those models highly, yet you are concerned that your opponents are disallowing their use.

...and with good cause. Although I have many Forgeworld models, I typically will not even bring them to a gaming venue unless I have pre-arranged a game with an opponent who feels that they have the necessary tactics/firepower to stop the threat that they propose.

Forgeworld models are a luxury item, and it is preposterous to think that your opponents should allow you to field them merely because you have the extra income to purchase them.

Worlds Collide
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
361 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Lets be clear - I said I was ranting. I do not expect opponents to allow them nor will I try to foist them on anybody. I am upset because the models look so damn good and I hate the fact that if i I decided to buy them and paint them I would more than likely not get to use them. So why does forgeworld make them? I have a few forgeworld models which are perfectly legal. In fact there are a lot of legal forgeworld models. So stop tempting me with broodnests and floating spore mines. I do disapprove of makig models that cannot be played or are obviously overpowered in terms of game balance.

I have a gargauntuan squiggoth nicely panted for my feral orks. I have a number of forgeworlds dreads including a mortis for my DW. Yes - I like forgeworld models. So what. They are expensive but its my hobby. That wasn't my gripe. My gripe is with great looking models that cannot be used. Just a little rant - sorry if it hit a sore spot.

BTW, I'm more upset over the rippers. C'mn - they are not that costly and they look fantastic. But rippers are crap in 4ed. I'm not making up a Godzilla list just to play them.

Well, that's out of my system.
 

·
Supreme Evil Overlord
Joined
·
4,873 Posts
Just to add, none of the models that FW are overpowered, in fact they are underpowered for their points.
I have a chaos warhound titan and it hardly ever get's it points back during a game and 1 well placed volley can take out the model.
If they can't be used casue of your opponents then you should perhaps look for older veteran players who more often allow such models to be fielded, the people that most object to FW are younger players who don't even know what FW stuff does and assume it's overpowered.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
410 Posts
Dreachon said:
Just to add, none of the models that FW are overpowered, in fact they are underpowered for their points.
I have a chaos warhound titan and it hardly ever get's it points back during a game and 1 well placed volley can take out the model.
If they can't be used casue of your opponents then you should perhaps look for older veteran players who more often allow such models to be fielded, the people that most object to FW are younger players who don't even know what FW stuff does and assume it's overpowered.
I'm not so sure about that. I agree that SOME of the FW Super Heavys and Gargantuans are not worth their points, but not all of them, esp if the other guy doesn't have any Titans of his own.

Take the Hierophant for instance (which I happen to own). It has 3 mass points. Can't post the exact costs and such, but to before you can even begin removing regular wounds you have to remove 3 of these nasty buggers (no pun intended). A single las cannon shot has only a 15% chance of doing so. The chances are about nill unless the weapon has AP2 or less. And this thing can pump out ungodly amounts of firepower. Close combat won't help much either as it has a lash whip and the equivalent of Nurgle's rot except with a 4+. And it goes before Power Fists.

I'm not expecting it to gain back all the points it gains in kills, but I am expecting it to soak up all heavy weapon fire as it cannot be ignored (it's classified as a Beast).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
70 Posts
So, the Hierophant is a killing machine right?

What does the Brood Nest do?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
361 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 ·
The brrodnest is a Tyranid drop pod - kind of. You get to place it as an infiltarting pod - regardless of wether the mission allows infiltration - and then roll for reserves. So it is attached to any squad and the squad can move and assault on arrival. If the nest is destroyed before the squad arrives you still get to enter the squad from the table edge. If the enemy is within 6" of the nest you get to choose wether or not to roll for the squad. You can imagine how effective this might be with a Lictor (reroll reserves)) and some stealers. I've made a few up to play with friends and they now do not want me playing them in my stealer army. Between them, my Broodlord and Lictors they don't get the chance to shoot me up before I attack. I start with just carnis, a squad of stealers and a retinue broodlord on the table. On turn two out pop the Lictors and the rest of my stealers.
RENDING ROCKS
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
253 Posts
I have a few questions about the brood nest:

If i have more than one nest.... do i have to tell what brood is in each one? do i have to write in a paper to show at the end of the game to the adversary? If yes we can mix nests of spore mines with nests of hormagunts, genestealers.. and hope that the contrary fires to the spore ones

If i infiltrate a brood leader around a brood nest is this immune to instakill?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
410 Posts
mente enjambre said:
I have a few questions about the brood nest:

If i have more than one nest.... do i have to tell what brood is in each one? do i have to write in a paper to show at the end of the game to the adversary? If yes we can mix nests of spore mines with nests of hormagunts, genestealers.. and hope that the contrary fires to the spore ones

If i infiltrate a brood leader around a brood nest is this immune to instakill?
I suspect it is treated the same way as transports so "yes". If the opponent asks which brood that nest contains you have to tell him.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,907 Posts
Laplace said:
I suspect it is treated the same way as transports so "yes". If the opponent asks which brood that nest contains you have to tell him.
Well, you do have to keep track of which broods belong to which nests, but you don't have to tell your opponant. Like transports, the opponent only has to know what's in it when the brood comes out.
 

·
Senior Member
Joined
·
529 Posts
Had a look at the malanthrope...

Is it a monstrous creature? the FW dev rules didn't specify (unless I missed it...).

For an HQ choice it looks pretty good: mediocre WS but a good number of attacks at high strength; high toughness, lotsa wounds and warp field to keep it safe, and best of all, fleet - this puppy can keep up with the front lines!

Have to agree the ripper bases are just gorgeous, and will probably soon find their way onto a table near me.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,907 Posts
Nope, not monstrous. It's just a "large target", so it can be shot at as if it were a monstrous creature, but it doesn't have any of the close-combat benefits of one.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
361 Posts
Discussion Starter · #19 ·
I'm not so sure. It's a dedicated transport somewhat like a drop pod. Its not picking up troops along the way. Since the rules are experimental I would certainly discuss this with your opponent - the few times I've played them, I cleared the rules with my opponent first - and I'm not sure he will let me use them again. If you start asking for hidden troops your opponent could just refuse to allow them.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,907 Posts
Well, of course you should discuss the unit with your opponent first. It's not a standard codex unit and it is not necessarily well balanced. However, once he knows the rules for it and its capabilities, you are under no obligation to reveal just how you are using it. As long as you are working within the rules, of course. . .
 
1 - 20 of 30 Posts
Top