Librarium Online Forums banner

Chaos Icons.. How many do you run your lists with in a typical 1850 list.?

• 1... Primary wave. Im a bit of a gambler...

Votes: 0 0.0%
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
725 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Icons?!?

I’ve seen many different opinions and preferences of the use of icons in players army list. I for one that has come to believe in them. At first when I started playing I thought they were not worth their points. I could get an extra model or 2, or maybe another gift that would be of benefit to my list. Thus, I played without them….. and lost many unit to the warp….

Lets face it… 40k has gone the way of assaulty armies. The first to reach their opponents and tear them limb from limb usually has a good chance of winning in the end. That being said, Demons do that without equal. Most of the units are assault and CC based. Only Tzeentch specializes in putting down some fire. So if your not firing, your trudging it towards the closest enemy.

Icons do 2 important things:

1. Minimize the randomness associated with a deep strike. Trying to drop Flamers close enough to an enemy unit to flame them is a risky situation. You have to get in that 12 inch danger zone at about 4-6 inches . With a properly placed icon, you can make a sure drop and take the risk right out of it.

2. Speeds up your army. It almost as if your 2nd and 3rd waves get turbo boosters for free. You don’t have to worry about dropping them 12 inches in back of your assaulting 1st wave. They may not even make it to an enemy until the 4th or 5th turn if you do. By then it may be too late. You can place them, within that magical 6 inches and whala, say hello to Mr. Soulgrinder.

I always run at least one icon in my primary wave if im playing a lower point game. Usually I run two, with one in each wave. They go on my bloodcrushers or bloodletters, which I know they will be in the thick of battle.