Librarium Online Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Can my Hive Tyrant allocate specific attacks on models under:

The old assault rules?

The Trial Assault rules?


It seems that from the codex they can, but I'm not sure. If not then he'd have to be part of a retinue to absorb Powerfist and Powerweapon attacks.

I play against Space Wolves who have tons of special cc weapons in their armies. If I can target specific models, then I waste him. If I cannot, then I think I'll be a pile of green goo that they clean off their weapons!

Thanks for the help.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,961 Posts
Old assault rules: Yes, he can, according to page 6 of codex tyranids.

Trial assault rules: No. He can only allocate his attacks against specific units, not models (independent characters count as one man units though). So a veteran sergeant (non-independent character) with p-fist cannot be targeted by a hive tyrant anymore, but he can target the hive tyrant, as the tyrant himself counts as a one-man-unit. The only way to prevent this is to tie up all power fist models in enemy squads with gaunts, so that they can't reach base contact with the big bug.

jwu
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Does a PF have to be in base to base in the new assault rules?

Can i have a line of gaunts in front of my Hive Tyrant and to tie up the PF or can he attack anyone within 2"?


I'm confused.

THanks!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,961 Posts
Does a PF have to be in base to base in the new assault rules?
Yes, it has to be in base contact with at least one model of the unit which its wielder attacks. Otherwise he can only throw a stone, no benefits of the p-fist at all. I'm not sure if it's even possible to allocate attacks to a unit that you don't have base contact with.

Can i have a line of gaunts in front of my Hive Tyrant and to tie up the PF or can he attack anyone within 2"?
Note that the hive tyrant needs base contact too. Without base contact with at least one model if his target unit it won't benefit of its monstrous creature status, e.g. it wouldn't ignore armour saves.

jwu
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
So essentially, I am screwed when it comes to playing space wolves.

Their Blood Claw packs can have 2 or more powerfists in each squad. They get 4 attacks each (5 if they charge). That's up to 10 PF attacks that I cannot kill even with my high initiative.

If my Tyrant has to be in BTB with them to get his attacks, then he is dead meat.

Am I right?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
515 Posts
where can i read the trial assult rules?, iv been asking this fore a while now.

i see your only"screwed if u relie on expensive gaunts or your monsterous creatures."
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,961 Posts
Originally posted by tumtatty@Nov 16 2003, 16:12
Their Blood Claw packs can have 2 or more powerfists in each squad. They get 4 attacks each (5 if they charge). That's up to 10 PF attacks that I cannot kill even with my high initiative.

If my Tyrant has to be in BTB with them to get his attacks, then he is dead meat.

Am I right?
Plain and simple, no.

Not ALL their models have power fists. Get your tyrant in contact with non-PF models, and tie up the ones which are actually dangerous with gaunts.

The TAR are disadvantageous for tyranids, but they can be compensated.

@Haemogod: Chapter Approved 2003.

jwu
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
I played against the wolves last night and (though we stopped due to the late hour) I'm pretty sure to win.

I used 3 biovores with acid mines which all hit in the first round (taking out 2 speeders and preventing one of his 2 whirlwinds from firing)

I brought a brood of 30 sythgaunts, 7 flying ripper swarms and 10 genestealers in a malefactor along with 2 flying hive tyrants with warp blast.

This provided me with 3 potential retinue's for the HT's who could tie up his bloodclaws for several rounds.

Having a malefactor move 9 and assault 9 with 5 wounds practically guarantees that the genestealers inside will survive to get into CC.

The key to beating the space wolves is to pop their rhinos and vehicles early on. They are NOT a shooty army and rely in CC to win. Making them walk and hitting them with a bunch of warp blasts will soften them up and get CC on my terms.

I put a bunch of rending claws on the gaunts and rippers. I had an escort of 4 warriors with rending claws go with the gaunts as well.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
311 Posts
This was on another forum, yes the PF has to be in B2B to get the double strength. Therefore if you charge with an expendable brood of gaunts (not rippers as to the PF can instant kill them) then the Carnifex's frontage is limited due to the gaunts. That means that there are less marines in B2B with the carnifex therefore if the carni kills enough (and if they are positioned right) the Powerfist must be taken out with the casualties, as the casualties can only be taken out within 2' of the fex.
 
1 - 10 of 10 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top