Librarium Online Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
112 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
Just a quick question. I had my first game against Skaven the other day and we weren't too sure about combat resolution for detatchments. Do they get bonus for standard etc from the parent unit or not?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
279 Posts
They get it counted, if the parent unit is also part of the fight. Just not if they are on their own. More importantly, they do get Steadfast from the parent unit's ranks, and Hold the Line from any Captains. Good luck having that Steadfast vs Skaven.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
112 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
thanks

Lol thanks that clear that up and also, correct me if im wrong but they also benefit from spells such as flesh to stone if cast on parent unit also?
 

·
Benevolent Dictator
Joined
·
9,222 Posts
Hello,
Just a quick question. I had my first game against Skaven the other day and we weren't too sure about combat resolution for detatchments. Do they get bonus for standard etc from the parent unit or not?
It's worth noting that all units in combat, Detachment or otherwise, get the bonuses for having a Standard in the fight, provided there's a friendly banner somewhere in the fight. If the Parent Unit is not in combat, then the Detachment does not gain the bonus from the Standard.

When the Parent and Detachment are involved in the same combat, then you get all of the following bonuses (if applicable)

Charged - if either unit has charged this turn (including a Detachment 'Counter Charge') then you get +1CR
Flank/Rear - if either unit is engaging the enemy regiment to the flank/rear then you get +1/+2CR respectively
Ranks - the highest number of ranks from any friendly unit involved in the combat (usually the Parent unit), to a maximum of +3CR
Banner - only the Parent unit has the option to take a banner, and any single friendly banner in the fight will provide +1CR
Magic Standard (eg. Warbanner) - banners which add to combat resolution, such as the Warbanner, will provide their bonus to the entire fight
BSB - if a BSB is present in the fight, +1CR
Steadfast - only the units who actually have more ranks than the enemy are Steadfast, however, this rule is listed on pg30 as one which will pass on to Detachments.

It's worth noting that you cannot be Steadfast by having the Parent Regiment outside of combat. Steadfast only "goes off" when you are in combat. There are strange cases where the Parent is 3" away and fighting a separate target which they are Steadfast against, and the Detachment is in a separate combat fighting an opponent. In this case, since the Parent has met the requirements to "activate" Steadfast, then the Detachment would also have it, but this is rare and the only way for a Detachment to be Steadfast without having their Parent unit in the same combat (other than being Steadfast through natural means)
 
1 - 8 of 8 Posts
Top