Librarium Online Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've always love the play style that Vulkan He'stan conveys onto his army, twin linking the flamers and meltas, and turning thunder hammers into master crafted. The only problem is that I wanted my own unique chapter with their own unique fluff, rather than being just another Salamanders army.

So I did some minor conversions, and have equivalent weapons and equipment to all of Vulkan's goodies. I'm not 100% sure it'll be tournament legal since mine is wearing terminator armor rather than Artificer armor, (the differences are being written into my fluff, such as not being able to teleported into battle, and transport capacity and such).

I'm not the best painter, or the best converter out there, but I tried to be somewhat unique, and thats what counts.

Anyway, the reason you're looking at this thread, pics!











CnC is always welcome, thanks.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
961 Posts
That is a very nice conversion, but your right - it's not tournament legal. Termie armor grants an invul save, teleports into battle, and uses a 40mm base. Artificer Armor is just a spiffier suit of Power Armor. Other than the base size issue though, the conversion does portray all the imporant parts of his equipment. I wouldn't see any reasonable opponent having an issue with it. (Although they may still want him to take up 2 spaces in a transport)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks, I didn't thinkhe'd be touney legal, but if I ever do go to one, I'll just bring the GW Vulkan I guess. I just wanted some flavour to my army, and he definately adds some. Next step is to get a banner made up for him. I was about to put the banner from the captain in AoBR on him, but I decided that would go against my uniqueness that I seek.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
928 Posts
Other than the base size issue though...
Have they changed the base size rules? Because I believe that you can still put any mini onto a larger base if you would like- so long as the new base isn't smaller than the one the mini came with originally, you're in the clear.

I've known a lot of people put their characters on 40mm bases to make them stand out.
 

·
Member
Joined
·
650 Posts
Have they changed the base size rules? Because I believe that you can still put any mini onto a larger base if you would like- so long as the new base isn't smaller than the one the mini came with originally, you're in the clear.

I've known a lot of people put their characters on 40mm bases to make them stand out.
Using bigger bases can cause some troubles with the True-LOS rules so that is the reason the rulebook tells you to use the bases that the model came with.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Well, my main concern was the termi armor as far as wysiwyg goes. In the rulebook it states that you can use a different base as long as your opponent is okay with it. The only issues that arise are the transport capacity and deep striking if you are strict with wysiwyg. In friendly games its easy enough to say "I wont do either" but with tournaments its not so easy to say that.
 
1 - 6 of 6 Posts
Top