Librarium Online Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a Warhammer newb, but have played wh40k for a bit. My first game will be versus a friend fielding a 1k Ogre army.

I built the following in ArmyBuilder and wanted to get some feedback because I know so little of how Warhammer tactics play in general and how the High Elves play in particular. A bunch of questions ran through my mind as I tried to build this.

Rationale for the army: It seems like the HE are hard hitters, but squishy, have great magic, and good shooting and mobility. They did not seem to hit hard enough to really stick it to a unit of Ogres (when I ran the statistics) so it seems like I should lean towards fast and shooty and try and stay out of close combat unless I can get really favorable odds. The dragon princes seem to be able to hang in close combat (on the charge for a round) and if they don't win out, they will likely be wittled down slowly.

So, my questions:
1 - Is the basic thinking above sound? If not, why not and what would you recommend?
2 - Would you keep the White Lions or go with some other special infantry like Pheonix Guard or Sword Masters? (I opted away from PG because they did not seem to hit hard enough, though they seem hard to kill; I am not sure on the Sword Master versus White Lions point.)
3 - In general, why take a large Spear Elf unit over the other specials. It seems like the measly 4pt difference between a basic spear elf and the PG, WhiteLions, and Sword Masters is worth just ditching the 18 spear elves and going with a few less, but far more potent special unit? (I see most of the lists on here with lots of spears, so I included it mostly because of that thinking I am missing something. ) Does it mostly make sense against swarm/horde like armies where the 18 (3 rank deep) spear attacks are effective against lower toughness models?

Total Roster Cost: 997
Noble 155pts
General; Barding; Hand Weapon; Heavy Armour