Librarium Online Forums banner
1 - 20 of 62 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Guys,

I am a new Necron player and had a few questions. I have been reading through some of the posts and found a few things I am unable to find in the rule book or the codex. I was wondering if you guys can clarify.

1. One of the threads concerning the monolith mentioned that it can only be hit on a roll of a 6? I am just wondering where this rule came from

2. In the codex the Monolith's Particle Whip is a S9 AP3 weapon yet I have read in a few places that it is AP1?


Thanks :)
 

·
LO's Resident Time Lord
Joined
·
3,270 Posts
Welcome to the harvest!

1. It's a vehicle, and hitting on 6s is covered in the "assaulting vehicles" section of the 40k rulebook.

2. This took me a while to find too. It's in an awkward place. Read the section in the beginning of the codex under definitions of Necron weapons and the gauss rule. Reminds me of how they placed the marks' effects in the Chaos codex.
 

·
Senior Member
Joined
·
1,880 Posts
Answers inline:

1. One of the threads concerning the monolith mentioned that it can only be hit on a roll of a 6? I am just wondering where this rule came from
A: WRONG. It can be HIT normally by weapons fire based on BS. In CC skimmers in 4th edition used to be hit only on a 6, however in 5th edition that was removed and based on movement determines what it's hit on. Since the Monolith can only EVER move 6" it is always hit on a 4+. It can't move all out to make it hit on 6+ only. :(

2. In the codex the Monolith's Particle Whip is a S9 AP3 weapon yet I have read in a few places that it is AP1?
A: The template is AP3, however the particle whip has a special rule for whatever is directly under the center circle. If a model is under the CENTER circle there is also an AP1 wound assigned to that model/unit. Example: If I pie plate a vehicle and a unit. The center is over the vehicle and the template is over say 3 marines. The vehicle hit is AP1 and the marine hits are AP3. Also, if the AP1 is on the unit, the opponent gets to decide where to put it. In 4th edition Necron players used to SNIPE named characters with this.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Hey guys,

Thanks for the clarity! I'm still learning how to play them. On a different note is there another application beside Army Builder from Lone Wolf to use for 40k? I'm looking for a cheaper alternative.

Thanks
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
261 Posts
It seems that all the others are correct but thare is another thing i think you have missed- this concerns something to do with the flux arcs.

now from the rules in the codex it does not say anywhere that you cannot fire the flux arcs AND the particle whip in the same turn- can you do this? even though i am an experienced player this is still confusing, usually though my opponents let me do so because if you cannot it is a real pain as you have to choose.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
The Particle Whip is an ordinance weapon. If you look at the ordinance rule in the rulebook it will explain it. Also that question is in the FAQ and it states that you are not allowed to shoot both the Particle Whip and Gauss Flux Arc in the same turn.

I came across a similar situation last night and came to the conclusion of: you can still use your monoliths power matrix to teleport a unit of necrons and fire your Gauss Flux Arc the same turn. Basically the reason you cant fire both weapons is because of the ordinance rule.
 

·
Senior Member
Joined
·
1,880 Posts
It seems that all the others are correct but thare is another thing i think you have missed- this concerns something to do with the flux arcs.

now from the rules in the codex it does not say anywhere that you cannot fire the flux arcs AND the particle whip in the same turn- can you do this? even though i am an experienced player this is still confusing, usually though my opponents let me do so because if you cannot it is a real pain as you have to choose.
It does say it somewhere, I believe on the FAQ? It's Flux Arc & Portal, OR Particle whip. Has to do with moving and firing multiple weapons in the main rulebook.,
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
36 Posts
Source : Necron FAQ

Q. Can the Monolith fire its particle whip and
gauss flux projectors in the same turn?
A. No, the Monolith cannot fire the particle whip
(as it is an ordnance weapon) and gauss flux
projectors in the same turn. The particle whip
uses the large blast marker and its range and line
of sight are measured from any of the Monolith’s
weapons.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
A few more questions on the Monolith

Hey Guys,

Thanks for all the insight. I do have a few more questions that came up in last nights game.

1. When I teleport a unit within 18" of the monolith do that all have to fit inside the 2" from the portal?? Seems kinda silly as if I choose a unit of destroyers it will be impossible for them to fit in that space.

2. If the monolith is based by a monstrous creature or a number of models and they are parked right in from of the portal can you still teleport a unit thru the monolith?

3. (non-monolith related - trying to find a ruling) If a unit can charge 12, how do you handle charging thru difficult terrain?

Thanks in advance!
 

·
This is for the haters...
Joined
·
1,308 Posts
1) Yes, if not then what's the point of the 2" rule?. The teleport is basically the same as disembarking from a vehicle. (also you can fit 5 Destroyers or 18 Warriors within 2" of the door fyi)
2) It's like disembarking from a vehicle, so no
3) If your referring to beasts/calvary it's explained in their rules. If your referring to something else (like combat drugs) then unless it specifies how it charges through DT it is still 2d6 pick the highest
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 ·
Hi CrownAxe,

Thanks for the quick reply.

As to your answer to question one.
"1) Yes, if not then what's the point of the 2" rule?. The teleport is basically the same as disembarking from a vehicle. (also you can fit 5 Destroyers or 18 Warriors within 2" of the door fyi)"

Do the entire model have to fit in that range? As the base of a destroyer is 2.5" in length.

Question 2: I kinda figure if the access point was blocked there would be no way out. It makes sense.

I played my second game against a tyranid opponent and problem I had is he had a Hive tyrant with twin-linked guns, I think they were devours. Not sure f you can answer the question but he was shooting 6 shots with them and rerolling misses. Is this correct?? As I thought twin-linked weapons were considered one weapon and there for you could only shoot 3 shots. But he said where it was a monstrous creature he could fire both weapons. The HT with that ability was hands down the game winner for him. I couldn't reach him with my ranged, when I did I got a few hits on him (He had a guard with it as well) and then he mowed down my destroyers with those twin-linked jobbies. With that being said I am still new to the Necrons and 40K for that matter so I am still figuring out the rules and stuff.

Thanks again!!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15 Posts
Hi CrownAxe,

Thanks for the quick reply.

As to your answer to question one.
"1) Yes, if not then what's the point of the 2" rule?. The teleport is basically the same as disembarking from a vehicle. (also you can fit 5 Destroyers or 18 Warriors within 2" of the door fyi)"

Do the entire model have to fit in that range? As the base of a destroyer is 2.5" in length.
The way that the rule book describes it is that as long as a piece of the base touches a 2" extension of the access point, then it counts as being able to exit from that access point. It also does not say anything about how you can stack your models because of their different flying bases instead of the standard 25mm round bases. You will never have to worry about getting more than 5 destroyers through the door as the squad size is limited to 5. As for the warriors, you technically can carefully squeeze them, but without the models in front of me at the moment, I cannot really say. If you have time set it out and do your best to fit them in and then measure out 2" and try to make sure that all the bases atleast touch that 2" mark, but keep in mind that 2" mark is measured for all sections of the door, so go from the far left and far right of the door as well. Personally I do not run groups of 20 warriors so I avoid this problem, but I think you should be alright. As for stacking the bases, I do not know if that is considered legal or not, but try to avoid it in any case.

Question 2: I kinda figure if the access point was blocked there would be no way out. It makes sense.

I played my second game against a tyranid opponent and problem I had is he had a Hive tyrant with twin-linked guns, I think they were devours. Not sure f you can answer the question but he was shooting 6 shots with them and rerolling misses. Is this correct?? As I thought twin-linked weapons were considered one weapon and there for you could only shoot 3 shots. But he said where it was a monstrous creature he could fire both weapons. The HT with that ability was hands down the game winner for him. I couldn't reach him with my ranged, when I did I got a few hits on him (He had a guard with it as well) and then he mowed down my destroyers with those twin-linked jobbies. With that being said I am still new to the Necrons and 40K for that matter so I am still figuring out the rules and stuff.
Thanks again!!
I do not know the stat lines of the Devourers, or any Nid gun for that matter, but the twin-linked is universal. Basically it allows you to simply reroll any misses one time. So a twin-linked lascannon will get to reroll it's one shot, a twin-linked heavy bolter will get to reroll any misses from it's 3 shots. It does not mean you get double the shots and rerolls, only rerolls, thats it. I can see how one can be confused. That being said, if he has 2 twin-linked devourers, then because he is a monsterous creature he can fire both at the same target. I do not know if he actually is allowed to carry two, I am pretty sure he can only carry one.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #15 ·
I do not know the stat lines of the Devourers, or any Nid gun for that matter, but the twin-linked is universal. Basically it allows you to simply reroll any misses one time. So a twin-linked lascannon will get to reroll it's one shot, a twin-linked heavy bolter will get to reroll any misses from it's 3 shots. It does not mean you get double the shots and rerolls, only rerolls, thats it. I can see how one can be confused. That being said, if he has 2 twin-linked devourers, then because he is a monsterous creature he can fire both at the same target. I do not know if he actually is allowed to carry two, I am pretty sure he can only carry one.
Just found out that it was two Venom cannons that were twin linked. Not sure if that makes a difference
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
Melta bombs on Monolith

Do the Melta bombs get 2d6 or 1d6 for armor pen on the monolith's living metal? I'm alittle confused on the hole thing about armor pen with the living metal so if anyone can help a guy out that would be great.
 

·
LO's Shadow Captain
Joined
·
12,783 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
36 Posts
I guess there are not many offensive things that do not count as 'weapons'. Psyker powers maybe, but definitely something that is thrown at, or propelled to a target definitely counts as a weapon to me ;)
 

·
LO's Shadow Captain
Joined
·
12,783 Posts
I guess there are not many offensive things that do not count as 'weapons'. Psyker powers maybe, but definitely something that is thrown at, or propelled to a target definitely counts as a weapon to me ;)
To you, perhaps, but does it count to the rules? Meltabombs are in the same category as krak grenades, frag grenades, etc. Does that make a frag grenade a weapon, in terms of the rules? I'm not certain on that but I'm leaning towards 'no.'



100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3
 

·
Senior Member
Joined
·
1,880 Posts
The best I can tell, reading the codex and the FAQ on GW's website, the meltabombs would still get 2D6 as the codex specifies weapons may not be granted additional dice. So a meltagun would be unable to get 2D6, but meltabombs are not considered weapons, they are considered grenades.

I don't know for sure, but that's the best I'd be able to come up with there.
NO...living metal means NO additional pen dice. Melta bombs do not work, melta guns do not work, chain fists do not work, etc. There are other things that get the Ordnance hitting it would get 2d6 but they only pick the HIGHEST, not combined. Nothing, NOTHING, gets additional dice for PEN. However there are some odd weapons that add other things like 2d6 to STRENGTH (or other stats), that's not the pen dice so that's allowed, but those are one off items.

So as long as they're not adding a dice for PEN, the basic idea is it likely works.
 
1 - 20 of 62 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top