Okay, this situation happened all within 5 minutes of the actual game, and left me with TONS of questions that I still haven't figured out...
Situation: Necron lord and 20 warriors were taken down to 12 warriors and the lord. They failed their morale roll and ran away 8". Fine. 2 of the 8 taken down were from heavy weapons that they normally couldn't stand back up from. Lord was close by, so they were laid down with the rest.
Next turn, they were with a few inches of the retreating models so they get to roll to stand up.
1) Do the 2 that were destroyed by heavy weapon fire get removed now or do they get to roll because they were within 6" of the orb when they dropped? If they are removed, then I should specially mark the ones that drop this way because it was difficult to know for sure which 2 they were after the fact. In other words, the squad was within 6", but the individual models were not.
The warriors stood back up. The rules state that the warriors are not out-of-formation or anything, but that the rogue group of 4 surviving warriors need to regroup with the closest squad. That put them within 6" of the original squad but not within 2".
My leader decided to use his veil of darkness instead of the normal move for the squad..
2) Does the entire squad get moved, or only the ones within cohesion distance? If only the ones in cohesion, what about the other necrons, do they become a 'new' squad? Remember, necrons are not considered not-in-cohesion when they're split up this way.