Librarium Online Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This has probably been discussed before, in which case point me to a thread. What kind of patrol do you use for 40k in 40 minutes?

I'm new to 3rd edition WH40K, after having last played Orks during the 1st edition Rogue Trader days (and early 2nd edition days). Ah, the game was different back then and I was a youngn' with nae a thought in my head except to be shooty and get lots of teef.

Necrons seem to be more my speed now. Playing around with Army Builder, I've put together the following patrol, focused on close combat on a small board:

10 Warriors
3 Wraiths
5 Flayed Ones
393 points

A Destroyer seems a bit heavy handed for 40k in 40 minutes, but here is an alternate list, heavy on the handedness:

11 Warriors
4 Destroyers
398 points

This might be kind of fun also:

10 Warriors
6 Pariahs
396 points

Or we can descend into sillyness:

10 Warriors
10 Scarabs
8 Scarabs
396 points

Anyway, the first list is what I'd take, but I'm inexperienced. What do you suggest?

·
Registered
318 Posts
At 400 points you definitely need to protect that phase out..... I'd use that 1st list, or the second one with one less destroyer, and 2 more warriors. IMO Pariahs are just a waste of points as they aren't NECRON units, and just suck up points. (They ARE rather beefy, but when you phase out, they don't stick around)

·
Registered
857 Posts
I agree with Lordhat. You could add a Tomb Spyder to the first or second list, juggling points as necessary, and therefore have an infinte amount of Scarabs. That seems like a good idea to me.

·
689 Posts
you need minimum 20 warriors. if there are not some special rules that i've never heard about. and thats 360 pts. you don't even have the pts for a lord. and thus you can't play 400 pts with the necrons.

·
Registered
857 Posts