Librarium Online Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi all,

I want to paint a 1500 points army of CSM in a very fast -- the fastes way, because it is my 5th army and the others still need attention as well:sinister:
I am an experienced painter and know about dipping, drybrushing ... So I am asking for color schemes and techniques that, combined, give good results and speed

I would prefer some white rusty color scheme but even more a painted army!

What I think:
1. coat the miniatures white
2. put some light brown and orange stripes for the rust
3. some bonecolor for horns and metal painted for bolters ans stuff
4. add brown color to shoulder pads (color scheme: white/brown)
5. Fanatic Army Painter to make it look cool from 30 cm

·
FW has all my cash
225 Posts
Might be a little bit more involved than you want.. but you could use the FW weathering powders and white spirit method..

I haven't personally done this.. but the effect of sprinkling the powder and then using white spirit to blend them together looked cool

It might give you the effect your looking for.. the rust that they show in the Modelling Master-class book looks absolutely real..

Forge World MODELLING SUPPLIES
http://www.forgeworld.co.uk/pdf/weathering-powders.pdf

·
LO Zealot
1,982 Posts
Wow, sorry to go off topic but the weathering powders look terrible. Well the first model they did looked great, the other two were disgusting.

·
Chilli Fueled Heretic
5,839 Posts
Wow, sorry to go off topic but the weathering powders look terrible. Well the first model they did looked great, the other two were disgusting.
The forgeworld range only contains a few colours. Imagine if you only had 6 colours to paint with! It would be very limiting.

What I think:
1. coat the miniatures white
2. put some light brown and orange stripes for the rust
3. some bonecolor for horns and metal painted for bolters ans stuff