Librarium Online Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1,522 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all I am a complete ogre noob only faced once. So I have a few questions

What's better a level 2 butcher or fire belly as the only wizard in an army?

Are thundertusks good like the idea of them?

Are mornfang good and are they better with great weapons or iron fists for 2+6+?

And if a butcher can take an iron fist can they have magic armour?

Many thanks

·
Fanatic
882 Posts
Like most armies a LVL4 is needed but at low pts I would go for a fire belly just for the breath weapon.
Thunder tusk are good if you use them right like a lot of things really, I prefer the stonehorn myself due to the massive impact (pun intended) it can have while charging.
Mornfang are very good lots of attacks good save. I would always go for the iron fist as a 2+ is much better than a 3+ and a 6++ in combat is not bad aswell. They like everything in the ogre army bar a few choices need the charge for all those S5 impact hits.
Last but not least yes Ogre Wizards can take magic armour (not fire belly) so you can have Glitering scales and fencers blades, armour of silvered steel etc.

Hope this helps, I don't even play ogres myself but my mate does and has done very well with them.
Also an over looked unit are the maneaters who can be amazing with a LVL 4 great maw as regen is so, so, so good on ogres.

Lucas

·
Registered
1,522 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I was thinking of a level 2, BSB 10 Iron guts both characters here 2 saber tusks 8 mornfang in 2 units of 4 and 2 thunder tusks at 2000pts thoughs on that?

I have played games at 2000pts with only a level 2 and normally fair well. However it is defiantly needed at over 2k.

I am trying to decide between ogres and lizards as my new council of war project.

·
Fanatic
882 Posts