Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

Well some of you probably read my post on the general discussion about the White Scar army i wanna try.

Im a newbie..and have no experience playing WH40k OR painting figurines. So I was hoping to get some tips to make things easy on myself.

I want to avoid going into alot of detail at this point..but at the same time I dont want my Army to look like its straight off the website. So..I want some originality..but not so much that I kill myself trying to paint my figures. According to pictures ive seen..White Scars are 95% white..with a a bit of red on the shoulderpads. Id like to change that to about 70% white..with black shoulderpads, some black on the chest, and black on the boots.

I wanna make my armor shine :).. whats the trick to making shiny armor? (basicly..when do you gloss it)

Can spraypaints be used? if so..any recommendations on brands and colors to use?

is painting a figure, then stripping it clean and painting it again a bad idea? knowing that if i mess up i can just strip it and start over would make me a lot more comfortable when im trying to do this :)

·
DING
1,740 Posts
Just to say dont try and strip any plastic models with acetone very very messy but it works great for metal minis. Maybe someone else has a method to strip plastic minis but i havent heard of one yet.
Trying painting the chest eagles black and do go with the black rims on the shoulder pads different companies in codex armies have different colour rims as far as i know.
But dont over do it on the black you still want to know that they are WS and not some bike riding black templars?
They are just my ideas

·
Registered
1,770 Posts
Ok just a tip, try to refrain from using inks. Most of the time they just mess up the model, although it usually gives a glossy colour that might be what you want. Try it yourself.