Librarium Online Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi, like the titles says: i'm new at space marine. I'm only playing tyranids for a year or so, so I'm relative new at that too :rotfl:

I bought an assault on black reach and traded the orcs with a buddy who bought one also. So now I have 2 captains, 2 tact squats (with flamer and missile launcher) 2 dreadnoughts (storm bolter, multi melta, dccw) and 2 termie squads of 5 (4 powerfists and 1 sword, storm bolter)

I would like to play ravenguard with Kayvaan Shrike and focus on cc and buy some assault squats....
Is that doable? Or do only shooty space marines stand a chance? A buddy who plays SM doesn't win much but I blame his style :act-up:

I keep reading about Rhinos (and vehicles in general) as a must for any army. Friends of mine play Eldar, SM and Orc. All play with the dedicaded transports and I would like to be different, therefore assault squads :snicker:

Any suggestions or tips would be appreciated

·
Registered
1,349 Posts
If all of your competition plays Mech, you're going to be left in the dust if you choose to foot-slog it.

At any rate, my recommendation is always to play a few games with what you've got before you consider making additional purchases. It will not only help you to assess what you have and what you still need, but it will also help you to determine your play-style with experience rather than speculation.

2x AOBR sets are a great start, I say get them assembled and painted and play a few games. Then once you have an idea of what you might want to buy, ask your friends if you can proxy a few battles before you make the purchase, in this way you will not find out the hard way if you've made a bad decision.

:beer:

·
Registered
1,349 Posts
Shrike can lead very effective shooty (dakka) lists in a casual setting.