Librarium Online Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Played Skaven for a bit, but now I'm pretty interested in starting WoC. Sadly, I have no clue where to start to have a semi-competitive 1000 point army. Maybe someone could help with this, but all my lists have come up way too character heavy, but I'd like to have a magic-heavy list. Please assist!

·
Registered
75 Posts
Unlike most other armies, you'll find that characters do take up a huge chunk of our list. Don't be worried about this though, as our characters do pack a punch.

Unfortunately other than maybe 2 level 2 nurgle sorcs, I have no idea what would be good at 1k. I tried 750 once and got crushed because I'm not good at making small lists :(

·
Registered
83 Posts
If you can bring in a unit of Chaos Knights you will have a pretty sominant force at 1000 points. At low level games like that magic is less effective and hard-hitting units are more effective because your opponent will have less trash to lead them astray.

Two units of Marauder Horsemen, two units of Chaos Knights and an exalted hero, with the extras to bring it to 1000 points would be very devastating at 1000 points.

·
Registered
75 Posts
Honestly in 1k, you can't bring much more than what Fizyx suggested without reducing the power of your army drastically. A second character can end up being anywhere from a unit of horsemen, all the way up to a unit of knights depending on how you gear them.

·
Registered
75 Posts
I think the juggernaut is well worth the point. Just don't forget he needs to be marked khorne to use a juggernaut.

The Jugger basically adds another 2(+1 = 3 for frenzy) strength 5 WS5 attacks, bringing the exalted up to 8 strength 5 attacks. I usually give him the Axe of Khorne so he has 5 strength 6 and 3 strength 5, and the str6 attacks have killing blow :)

·
Registered
83 Posts
The Juggernaut is a fabulous item for a Khorne themed character.