Librarium Online Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
According to book, enemy models attacking nightshroud loses all charging bonus and have init reduce to 1.
Does that mean that if my vamp is charged then my opponent do not get to hit 1st since hitting 1st is one of the benefit of charging.
If that is the case then I will always strike 1st when my enemy charge me because they will have an init of 1.
Not trying to out cheese or rule lawyering but am trying to clarify.

Thanks
 

·
Senior Member
Joined
·
689 Posts
Well, yeah. If anyone charges a character with the night shroud they lose all bonuses for charging (such as attacking first, extra str from lances, spears, flails etc.) and reduce their initiative to 1. so unless your character has initiative 1, you should go first in all cases.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
437 Posts
The wording for it is something like this

Enemies wishing to attack the bearer, lose all charging benefits (lances, striking first), Lose Always Strike (if they have it) and gain Always Strike Last (not Intiative 1)

And no the benefit does not apply to the whole unit
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
82 Posts
The wording for it is something like this

Enemies wishing to attack the bearer, lose all charging benefits (lances, striking first), Lose Always Strike (if they have it) and gain Always Strike Last (not Intiative 1)

And no the benefit does not apply to the whole unit
It is only things that attack the wearer that lose the bonus but it does reduce the targets initiative to one and they lose ASF in addition to the other things.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
So in the situation where my great weapon wielding nightshroud vampire is charged by enemy, do my vampire get to hit by init order. I am leaning toward no as an answer but would like others interpretation.

Thanks

Tim
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
306 Posts
You would roll off because your vampire would go at the same time as the enemy attacking him. Your great weapon gives you initiative 1 and nightshroud make any models attacking the vampire lose ASF and makes them initiative 1.
 

·
I have a cunning plan
Joined
·
605 Posts
The Great weapon makes you strike last so the enemies I1 will strike before you. Strikes last is that simple you strike last, simple unless you have always strikes first which over rides strike last
 

·
Forward Kommander
Joined
·
1,005 Posts
You are right I thought great weapons made you initiative 1 but I just checked the rulebook and it does say strike last so nightshroud would not be good if you have a great weapon.
Unless the opponent is trying to assassinate your vampire. If they're, 3 enemies are likely allocating attacks at him, and the unit you're in will have a chance to kill them before your vampire takes hits. Then, after your unit gets some shots on them, they'll get their chance at your vampire... hopefully the vamp survives to strike back :)
 
1 - 10 of 10 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top