Librarium Online Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
381 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
For starters, I'm new to chaos. I am was/am a BT/DE guy. Looking for something different, I'd hoped to start/finish a TS army before next year. I've already purchase two TS Marine sets and a Lord. My next slot will be a heavy. I was wondering what you fellas/ladies thought was best. Right now I am leaning towards the Dread w/las-missle combo. I believe it CAN give some mobile tank busting that MAY be a little better than a Pred. Things to keep in mind if you post. I play mostly 1000-1500 point games on a 4x4 terrain heavy board. Once a month or so I travel and play on a 4X6.
Thanks for the help.

·
Registered
207 Posts
The nice thing about a dread is that it has more weapon options than a predator and can handle close combat well. I installed magnet mounts on all my dreads so i can switch weapons as needed. I fancy a plasma gun this game, you now what i mean? As for the Las/missle... I would keep the close combat arm on and go with a Havoc Missle Launcher for another 20 pts, but that's just my style. You play it how you want it.

The predator is a good model to have, but for 1000 pts i like to be versatile - which the predator is not. I think maybe the dreadnought is a good selection in your case.

·
907 Posts
shoottokill said:
I would keep the close combat arm on and go with a Havoc Missle Launcher for another 20 pts, but that's just my style. You play it how you want it.

The predator is a good model to have, but for 1000 pts i like to be versatile - which the predator is not. I think maybe the dreadnought is a good selection in your case.
Word to this. A little mutated hull and you have one tough puppy. I prefer dreads for their superior fluff, cooler models, and versatility in the game. I agree you should hold on to the DCCW, since it is sweet, and get the havoc. That way you're not in trouble if you happen to lurch forward into CC all of a sudden.

·