Librarium Online Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I usually suck at painting so I am humbling myself and asking for help. I am creating a chapter of Space Marines called the Guardians of the Black Throne, and they have of course black armor. Now the thing is I want them to look good to( go figure) and I would appreciate any tips on painting Matte black armor. Thanks.

·
Bork! Bork! Bork!
416 Posts
I orginally just primed the models with black primer but that doesn't look very good so I suggest you highlight the shoulder guards, and the rim near the back of the foot on the Space Marines leg, thats all I can highlight because I'm not too good at painting but i hope this helps.

·
Registered
324 Posts
Ok so, black armor... do not under any circumstance try to dry-brush. Or you are gonna be making grey knights. with black armor 2 things are key. 1. good basecoat (may take several THIN black layers). 2. less is more. Black armor is best rendered with jus tthe very smallest highlights. In fact, some people obtain a fantastic finish (for gaming purposes, not competition) by layering lots of gloss on straight black.
With my black templars I found that highlighting a FEW key raised pieces of armor with a very fine grey line (ok, so 4-5shades and a white dot) worked great.
GW has a good article that has some different styles/methods. In particular, read the part about tone/black. Using a brown may help the matte finish

GW Online : Warhammer 40,000 : Space Marines : Painting Black Armour

good luck! Oh and send me a pic if it works! cheers!

·
Set Sail and Conquer!
1,633 Posts
I typically blend up from black using bleached bone as the brightener - its not as strong a finish as any of the greys you can buy. Thus I feel it is less distracting from the black itself, a problem I often see when people use, say, codex grey (the contrast is often too stark).