Librarium Online Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As it has been 11 years since I last painted one, I sought advice from a friend of mine who is really good with his painting. He said that after the white primer to use Mechrite Red watered down about 3:1, then wash the armour dark and then "clean up" the armour with Blood red (To make the armour look used and not totally bright red).

I tried this, but I find that it takes a good few coats of the Mechrite Red and maybe 3 washes to get the desired effect. Is this down to too much water being used or is it just the way it is?

Any advice on this would be appreciated :D

·
Registered
370 Posts
Are you using the Baal Red Wash? And to all of the people on the painting forums, I am a terrible painter so forgive me when I say this but how exactly do you get a 3:1 mix of Mechrite red? This would be helpful to get my painting better.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
The recent WD that covered the space hulk release had a very in depth article on how eavy metal paint their angels, worth a peek.
Thanks for that, will have to pick it up :D

Are you using the Baal Red Wash? And to all of the people on the painting forums, I am a terrible painter so forgive me when I say this but how exactly do you get a 3:1 mix of Mechrite red? This would be helpful to get my painting better.
Basically, he was telling me to put 3 parts Mechrite Red into a pallete (Or a ceramic tile in my case) then put 1 large drop of water into it to thin it out as Mechrite Red is a foundation paint. You could also get this effect from using a different paint like Red Gore or possibly Baal Red. If you take a sneaky peek on Youtube, there are quite a few tutorials for Blood Angels. At the moment, i'm experimenting but was wondering what other peoples methods were as i'm new myself :D

·
Registered
370 Posts
Exactly how much is one part? Like a drop of mechrite red?

·
Monkey of Mystery
2,789 Posts