Librarium Online Forums banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I don't know if its just in my area but i find that most players under 18 dont read the rules at all. They just seem to read the title of the ability or upgrade and just guess what it does. I have only been playing for 1.5 years but i have been correcting players who have been playing for 6+ years. Heres some things i can think of off the top of my head that have happened to me about rules: someone thought upgrades were free, another person thought that leaping for nids makes them jump infantry, someone thinking that some premeassureing rule (for a specific unit only) for IG (old codex) applied to all units, a person who played for 7 years thought blast templates were handelded with no scatter, but rolling to hit and the worst player thought that you used WS to shoot instead of BS. From all of these players i have heard the usual "but thats what the codex/rulebook says." Has anyone else had any experiances like this?

·
The Future
4,848 Posts
I don't know if its just in my area but i find that most players under 18 dont read the rules at all.
I think you'll find that it's nothing to do with age. Sometimes it's that they've got an old rule stuck in their head, sometimes they know the rules but are trying to cheat, sometimes they just miss sections from the rulebook.
I have only been playing for 1.5 years but i have been correcting players who have been playing for 6+ years.
Then you have the advantage of only knowing 5th edition 40k :p
someone thought upgrades were free
I would guess they were more cheating than ignorant
another person thought that leaping for nids makes them jump infantry
If they didn't also try to move then 12" in the assault phase, I'd say it was an understandable mistake especially if they were new to the codex.
someone thinking that some premeassureing rule (for a specific unit only) for IG (old codex) applied to all units
cheater