Librarium Online Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
991 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, this is my first time on this forum. I have read quite a few posts and I see there is sooo much for me to learn!

I am pretty new and I am running Ultramarines. In the codex it describes Veteran squads that are trained to fight 'Nids. It says they basically have learned even the largest beasts can be brought down with krak grenades and can do so in close combat. The krak grenades normally hit on a 6+ but against a preferred enemy they hit on a 3+. Plus each model only gets one attack like this. I tried to do that in a game yesterday and I was told by my opponent that Preferred Enemy does not work against monstrous creatures. I looked in the book and sure enough, he was right. This seems like a ridiculous waste of my points. I only want to use krak against big guys like the carnifex and the hive tyrants. Against the hordes of gaunts and genestealers when I get toe-to-toe and chop them up, especially since I get at least 2 attacks per model and the sgt gets more.

The main reason I spent points on the Tyranid Veterans was to use the krak grenades on the big dudes and to use the hellfire ammo from my heavy bolters. (That was a bust too, since I kept missing on my hit rolls! LOL! The dice were against me!) When I did attack with 10 models against a carnifex I did not roll any 6's so I got no hits, no wounds against it...

Bottom Line: Is this ruling correct? Are the Tyranid War Veterans a waste of points?

·
Registered
346 Posts
yes they are a waste of life pretty much, its like codex alienhunters (when it comes out) if u have anti ork rounds, why would i want to verse you. If you have anti tyranid rounds, why i want to verse you. Also, it does seem liek a waste of life when regular guys can get the job done just as easily and u can have way more.

·
Registered
1,020 Posts