Librarium Online Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
410 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Interesting discussion I had with a friend about the HT Guard. Looked in the Codex and FAQs and *think* I know the answer, but want some expert advice too.

First, it says that a Tyrant Guard acts as a "shield wall" for the Hive Tyrant meaning that he/she/it can't be picked out even though the Tyrant is monsterous.

However, there is no indication that the Tyrant Guard himself/herself/itself is monsterous (the model size even reveals such).

So, my question is since Monsterous creatures block LOS can a Hive Tyrant block LOS for his Tyrant Guard?

The reason you may want to do this is the Hive Tyrant can get a 2+ which is better than the Guard's save. Normally, you'd have to have the guard take the wound first.

However, they are a single unit and normally regular troops can't block LOS for other regular troops. However, they aren't the same size.

It might be akin to cover blocking LOS to a regular squad. Unless you can see the models, you can't target them and if you do kill some people, you can only take of models which you could see (except Ordnance/Blast/etc).

Thoughts?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,059 Posts
My assumption regarding Tyrant guard is they soak up hits instead of the Hive tyrant getting rocked. I'm not up to speed on the Tyranid rules, however if the Hive tyrant + the guard equal 1 unit then your looking at taking wounds off the majority armor save. So in a sense if you have 2 guard they are the majority armor save so the wound is taken off them. However, you should really read the codex as i'm sure there are additional rules concerning Tyrant guard.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,907 Posts
Tyrant Guard simply prevent the Tyrant from being picked off in the manner that Monstrous Creatures are normally vulnerable to and are otherwise normal units. As such, the Mixed Armour rules apply as normal. Whether or not a Tyrant can block LOS to his own Guard is the same question as whether or not any other Monstrous Creature can block LOS to other models in the same unit.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
410 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Ostsol said:
Whether or not a Tyrant can block LOS to his own Guard is the same question as whether or not any other Monstrous Creature can block LOS to other models in the same unit.
Which is exactly what I'm trying to answer.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,907 Posts
Ah. . . Well, I don't see why a MC wouldn't block its own squadmates. I would certainly think that a squad a vehicles would behave that way and MCs are in the same size class, so they shouldn't be treated any differently.
 

·
Now with STFU flames!
Joined
·
5,917 Posts
I think you're going about it the wrong way - you're not shooting at a single model, you're instead shooting at a unit. It's no different than say a Statured Prince taking a retinue of Chaos Marines, except that the Prince could be picked out for shooting, while the Tyrant can not.

So the question is - how does a Tyrant block line of sight to his own unit?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,907 Posts
Well, the way I think of it, he acts basically like a piece of blocking terrain. Models behind him cannot be removed as casualties since they're out of the line of sight.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
953 Posts
You shoot the unit, not the model. The only time I can see the MC blocking models from his own unit is when another special rule allows a specific model to be picked out (like the Callidus Assasin). In most cases you shoot a unit and the owner selects the targets. This is evident for Necron Tomb Spiders when they crap out Scarabs, whenever an infantry IC joins a unit of small creatures (like grots), and most likely a few other cases.

Can the HT block LOS from his guard? Vehicle squadrons block LOS to each other even though they are one unit. But I believe they are still shot at as one unit. The way I read it the HT cannot block LOS to his guard thus forcing the HT to take all saves, but his bulk may block LOS from his guard to another unit the same way a vehicle squad blocks LOS.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
410 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
LordCreampuff said:
You shoot the unit, not the model. The only time I can see the MC blocking models from his own unit is when another special rule allows a specific model to be picked out (like the Callidus Assasin). In most cases you shoot a unit and the owner selects the targets. This is evident for Necron Tomb Spiders when they crap out Scarabs, whenever an infantry IC joins a unit of small creatures (like grots), and most likely a few other cases.

Can the HT block LOS from his guard? Vehicle squadrons block LOS to each other even though they are one unit. But I believe they are still shot at as one unit. The way I read it the HT cannot block LOS to his guard thus forcing the HT to take all saves, but his bulk may block LOS from his guard to another unit the same way a vehicle squad blocks LOS.
Huh?

Basically the reason why I am asking is because if you know the enemy has a lot of weapons with lower AP (Missile launchers) it would be much better to have your HT take the hits because of his better save.

Normally you wouldn't be able to do this because you would have to apply the mixed armor save rule having the Tyrant Guard take a wound first (with no saves).

You do run the risk of having the Hive Tyrant take shots that cannot be attrributed to the guard but I would like to have this flexibility.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Even though they are one unit you can only take models within line of sight, so potentially if the tyrant is standing infront of a guard, completely blocking him the tyrant himself would have to take the hit. This would even work if the tyrant has the 2+ sv and his guard has the 3+.
 
1 - 10 of 10 Posts
Top