Librarium Online Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
382 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright as a group several of my friends in this game have an issue with when exactly a spellcaster 'loses concentration' and can no longer cast another spell. According to the rules bible, it seems that anytime a spell fails, the magic phase pretty much ends because the caster cannot cast any further spells.

But if that's the case, why specify that an unmodified 1 or 2 on a roll is an automatic failure?

Example: A spell requires a 10+ to be cast. My level two sorcerer uses three dice and awesome luck, rolls a 3,2,2.. plus the additional 2 for his level only equals 9. Of course he cannot try that same spell again, but can he try another spell, or is his magic phase completely over?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
275 Posts
If the sorcerer fails the roll once by rolling a total of 1 or 2 he cannot use anymore magic for the remainder of the magic phase, but if you happen to have another sorcerer he CAN. And if he fails to cast a spell like you describe the same thing happens, he cannot use anymore magic, however other sorcerers you have can.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
148 Posts
You are correct about broken concentration and that the caster is no longer able to cast that round, but the rule book does not state anything about the magic phase ending, that being said you can use your power dice with another caster/bound items.

ie. if my slann mage-priest (lvl4) caster fails a roll/dispell he is no longer allowed to cast that round (this does not include bound spell) my round is not over, I can cast from my skink priest or dispell from my army if there are any remain in play spells out.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
382 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Awesome, thanks for the responses guys, it's not going to make some other guys in my crew happy, but rules is rules.
 
1 - 5 of 5 Posts
Top