Librarium Online Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just started playing again and I broke out my swooping hawks which I have never used before because I wanted to try them out.

I used 9 man unit w/exarch ( I know expensive) anyway I had intercept and withdraw, I was having trouble with a landraider and so i deep striked my swooping hawks down behind it so I could assult it with haywire gernades. I was told by the other guys that once they have deepstuck that they cannot move at all all they can do is shoot. I couldn't find anything in the rule book so I would like to know if the is true because if it is, the swooping hawks are just going to be sitting there. They ended up getting charged and killed by his command squad.

My other question is when can you use withdraw, the rule seems to say that it can be used only in the movement phase. So is that my movement phase and/or the other guys movement phase as well? Cuz if I canm only do it on my movement phase the way i am reading it, is that you cant use them until turn 2, when held in reserve, they fight turn two but cant move, I can take them off the board on turn 3 with withdraw, and try and bring them back on trun 4 right? That means you dont get much use out of them during a 6 turn game, if you are lucky and you want to use withdraw you will only have them for half the turns, dosent seem very useful.

Any thoughts or tatics with them would be helpful, Thanks

·
Sparta!
1,438 Posts
Hi, welcome to one of the most underrated Aspect units in the book.
I use hawks all the time and they tend to work for me.